Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2013, 10:54 AM   #16
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,809
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
R 410-a is a blend. If you have a leak,you don't know what part of the freon left. Vacuum, repair leak, recharge.
It is not the system we are dealing with it, it is the actual bottle of R410. If you don't use it as liquid then the mixture in the bottle gets screwed up. Don't want the rest of that bottle being put in your system do you.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
statum1012 (10-17-2013)
Old 10-18-2013, 09:12 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Good comments so far. To continue the conversation, I would like to know your thoughts on r134a? It is a blend also and on the can it tells you to rotate the can every 3 to 5 seconds when adding it to the suction line. This means it is added as a liquid and gas. Any idea what makes r134a so special that you can do this and why r410a is not as special?
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 11:17 AM   #18
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,066
Rewards Points: 544
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


I don't think R134a is a blend, hence it would have no glide so can be charged as a gas. They want you to rotate the can to help ambient heat keep the stuff evaporating so it will charge at a reasonable rate. I sometimes use a saucepan of warm water to speed things along and get the last bit out.
__________________
Live long and prosper.

Last edited by raylo32; 10-18-2013 at 11:20 AM.
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 11:25 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by raylo32 View Post
I don't think R134a is a blend, hence it would have no glide so can be charged as a gas. They want you to rotate the can to help ambient heat keep the stuff evaporating so it will charge at a reasonable rate. I sometimes use a saucepan of warm water to speed things along and get the last bit out.
According to many sites I have looked at it is a blend...

http://encyclopedia.airliquide.com/e...=5#GeneralData
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 12:10 PM   #20
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,066
Rewards Points: 544
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


It it used as a component in other blends. But is not a blend itself....
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 12:20 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by raylo32 View Post
It it used as a component in other blends. But is not a blend itself....
Interesting...I did not know that. Thanks for the clarification.
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 05:50 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


R134A is a single compound refrigerant. That is why it can be charged as a liquid or vapor.

However, there are companies that make bootleg R134A. It is not pure R134A, and may contain explosive additives.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 06:18 PM   #23
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,809
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Apparently that is a huge problem with R22 now, Kaboom. Where I am there is only one approved cylinder for sale and distribution ( no disposables ).

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charge, charging, gas, liquid, r410a


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charging a 3 Phase 5 TON R410A System Proton man HVAC 5 07-02-2012 07:59 PM
Ductless Mini Split Install - need HVAC Tech! mike_30319 HVAC 13 03-30-2011 07:18 AM
Moving HVAC system dilemma denemante HVAC 4 03-18-2011 05:55 PM
How much do I charge? canadaclub General DIY Discussions 3 11-09-2006 07:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.