Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2013, 01:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Hello, I have read that R410a should be added to a system as a liquid. But I have not read where there is really any issue with adding R410a as a gas to the low side service port? As long as it is added slowly, does anyone see a real problem with adding R410a to the suction service port at the compressor?
Has anyone actually tried adding R410a to the LS suction port as a gas?


Last edited by statum1012; 10-15-2013 at 10:51 PM.
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 01:19 PM   #2
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,065
Rewards Points: 542
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Well, you can't charge to the high side. It should be obvious that the output of the compressor is going to be a higher pressure than the R-410a in the bottle at ambient temp.

I have never done R-410a yet but as I understand it you charge liquid to the low side but *slowly* as to allow it to vaporize on the way in so it doesn't slug the compressor. Liquid charging needed to preserve the mix of refrigerants in their original fractions.

__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to raylo32 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-18-2013)
Old 10-15-2013, 01:29 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,776
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Yep, you DO NOT charge it out of the bottle as a gas or it will fractionate/separate into its different components. The Pros use a charging manifold with a sightglass and we slowly flash the liquid into gas while watching the glass and then put it very carefully into the suction/low side. too fast and liquid enters and damages the compressor valves or scrolls and can wash the oil out of the compressor and other nasty things.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-18-2013)
Old 10-15-2013, 01:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Thx. I knew that about the r410 tank psi and charging on the high side. I dont know why I said that. I think I was going to write something else and just forgot to delete those words. LoL.
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 10:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 186
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


If the system is empty and in a deep vacuum then you charge as a liquid
thru the high side. depends on the size of the unit and ambient temp, you might be able to put in the whole charge without turning on. if the pressure equalize before the charge is correct then you switch over to low side and start the unit up.
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 10:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Has anyone actually tried adding R410a to the LS suction port as a gas?
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 11:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by statum1012 View Post
Has anyone actually tried adding R410a to the LS suction port as a gas?
why on earth would you...... it needs to be charged in liquid form...... try it let us know how it goes....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 11:20 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,776
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


I agree.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 11:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


I have read that a few have tried it and did not have a problem. I was curious if any pros on this site have tried it. Seems that if you have to carefully throttle it and watch the site glass when you add it as a liquid it would not matter because you have to be careful no matter how you add it. So adding it as a gas would require a similar level of care. So I am asking this forum if this line of thinking is correct or am I way off base?
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 11:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


your in left field...... charge as a liquid as per manufactures instructions...... someone smarter than all of us decided how to charge it...... I have charged liquid for over 30 years...... never blew one up yet.... tomorrow is a new day though.....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 11:43 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Sorry If i cam off as rude... that was certainly not my intention......
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to carmon For This Useful Post:
statum1012 (10-16-2013)
Old 10-15-2013, 11:46 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Seems like it should be added as a gas when adding it to the low side port. After all, what you are mixing it with is gas and you are so close to the compressor why risk damaging it by adding it as a liquid? I know that conventional wisdom is to add it as a liquid but that doesnt mean I cant question it. Thats what sites like this are for.
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 06:19 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by statum1012 View Post
Seems like it should be added as a gas when adding it to the low side port. After all, what you are mixing it with is gas and you are so close to the compressor why risk damaging it by adding it as a liquid? I know that conventional wisdom is to add it as a liquid but that doesnt mean I cant question it. Thats what sites like this are for.
Way back in the 80's, I started charging/topping off R22 systems with liquid into the suction line. Been doing so ever since. In the 90's, all these new gasses came out that have high fractionations, so been charging all of them by liquid through the suction line to top off, or do final charge adjustment. Been doing R410A the same way also.

I have never seen a reason to do it as vapor. Its slow, and if you end up with a leak in your system, and continue to have to top off, you will end up with an unknown amount of fractionation. let alone, not knowing the integrity of the refrigerant in the R410A cylinder you were using.

So no, I have never topped off, nor charged a R410A system by vapor. No reason to.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
statum1012 (10-16-2013)
Old 10-17-2013, 05:18 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,333
Rewards Points: 664
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


R 410-a is a blend. If you have a leak,you don't know what part of the freon left. Vacuum, repair leak, recharge.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:23 AM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
R 410-a is a blend. If you have a leak,you don't know what part of the freon left. Vacuum, repair leak, recharge.
You can top off a leaking system with R410A the same as you can with R22. All leaks should be repaired with either refrigerant.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charge, charging, gas, liquid, r410a


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charging a 3 Phase 5 TON R410A System Proton man HVAC 5 07-02-2012 07:59 PM
Ductless Mini Split Install - need HVAC Tech! mike_30319 HVAC 13 03-30-2011 07:18 AM
Moving HVAC system dilemma denemante HVAC 4 03-18-2011 05:55 PM
How much do I charge? canadaclub General DIY Discussions 3 11-09-2006 07:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.