Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2013, 01:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Changing the filter on a Goodman gas furance


I rent a home that has a Goodman gas furance/AC unit installed. In order to change the filter, I have to unscrew the botttom half of the front of the unit. The wires all hang down and I have to place the 14x25x1 filter inside, under these wires. It always gets stuck and the filter ends up bending. Am I buying the wrong kind of filter? To be honest, I but the cheapest one I can find, usually encased in cardboard. Yes, I shut off the emergency switch first! But I can never get the filter to lay flat where it's supposed to be. Am I doing something wrong? The condensate line for the AC is a real gem too....it's PVC pipe that goes out through the wall. I have to keep a pail under it so it doesn't run down the driveway and pool by the neighbors driveway. Looks like a Rube Goldberg operation to me. The changing of the filter really scares me though.

cavine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,916
Default

Changing the filter on a Goodman gas furance


Got a picture?

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Changing the filter on a Goodman gas furance


I hope I've done this properly:

The first picture is the cover of the Goodman furnace

The 2nd picture is the bottom half open with a the wires and the filter.
Attached Images
  
cavine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing filter in Whirlpool whole house water filter farnamct Plumbing 7 12-20-2012 09:11 PM
using a (slightly) larger furance filter sannitig HVAC 2 04-13-2012 11:04 PM
Water Softener started regenerating when I was changing the water filter nicksergeant Plumbing 0 11-07-2010 06:17 PM
Changing the oil filter in boiler eefromjersey HVAC 1 01-19-2009 11:01 AM
Location of Goodman gmp075-4 filter ulaes HVAC 3 12-06-2008 08:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.