DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   HVAC (http://www.diychatroom.com/f17/)
-   -   ceramic electric baseboard heaters - opinions? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f17/ceramic-electric-baseboard-heaters-opinions-32049/)

abieslas 11-17-2008 12:21 PM

ceramic electric baseboard heaters - opinions?
 
Any experience with and/or opinions of ceramic electric baseboard heaters?
http://www.king-electric.com/prodtemp.asp?prodID=CB

Thank you.

kennzz05 11-17-2008 12:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by abieslas (Post 186324)
Any experience with and/or opinions of ceramic electric baseboard heaters?
http://www.king-electric.com/prodtemp.asp?prodID=CB

Thank you.

no but i know the portable ones work very well

just looked at the website i dunno looks like a reg old elec baseboard to me if its not like 3 times more expensive than a standard one than i guess its fine if you have the option go with 220 volt as its cheaper to operate

dac122 11-17-2008 12:30 PM

Yes, but they have their place depending. What are you trying to do/what do you want to know?

abieslas 11-17-2008 02:10 PM

I'm replacing about 30 year old partly-non-functional, dead-mouse-infested baseboard heaters in the living/dining area (main room) of a cabin. There's little wall insulation and large single-pane windows just 15" above the floor. This room also heats the kitchen and hall, a couple of steps up.

Time and budget are limited and even though these heaters are quite a bit more expensive than regular ones, installation costs will be low compared to replacing with other forms of heat. There is a wood stove insert in the room but fireplace isn't in good condition either.

Thanks for any thoughts about this.

Marvin Gardens 11-17-2008 03:22 PM

Resistance heating is resistance heating. There are all kinds of ways that people come up with to get your money. Bottom line is that there is only so much energy in a watt of electricity no matter what method is used.

You can spend the extra money and get the same heat as the cheaper baseboard heaters. If you want the "new" stuff it's your money. Just don't expect to get any more heating out of these.

I like the oil filled radiators. They don't put out any more heat than any other 1500 watt heater, they just have the ups and downs of other heaters. The oil gets hot and will stay warm for a long time once the thermostat shuts down. It's called thermal mass.

dac122 11-17-2008 03:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by abieslas (Post 186372)
I'm replacing about 30 year old partly-non-functional, dead-mouse-infested baseboard heaters in the living/dining area (main room) of a cabin. There's little wall insulation and large single-pane windows just 15" above the floor. This room also heats the kitchen and hall, a couple of steps up.

Time and budget are limited and even though these heaters are quite a bit more expensive than regular ones, installation costs will be low compared to replacing with other forms of heat. There is a wood stove insert in the room but fireplace isn't in good condition either.

Thanks for any thoughts about this.

Open up the old ones, clean out the mouse infestation, repair or replace any parts that look in question, and paint them with good heat resistant paint if you think they need it. All electric resistive heaters are 100% efficient so the new ones aren't any better.

beenthere 11-17-2008 05:54 PM

As Marv said. They won't cost any less to use, they a regular electric baseboard.
Just cost more to buy.

abieslas 11-17-2008 06:31 PM

Thanks, everyone! I appreciate the advice.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved