Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2009, 08:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

central air unit removel


I am rmoving a new unit i had installed and i want 2 know do i have depressurize the compressor.

big mikec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 08:56 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

central air unit removel


Either needs to be recovered, or pumped back to the condenser.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 09:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Home Air Direct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 297
Default

central air unit removel


I am sure someone will tell you that you can pull the vacuum with the unit its self, but if you are a quality diy, you will recognize that this is not the arena you need to be in.

I think you can set the unit, run the lineset, run the elec (maybe), run the control wires. But I also think there is an absolute need for assistance beyond that.

Call a pro for the vac or reclaim, and restart. Making an error here is against the law. Don't risk it. I love DIY, but I think all of us need to draw the line at times and I think this is one of those time.

Be safe and smart.

Good Luck
Jay
__________________
Settle down! If you were that important, the city would give you lights and a siren for your car

Last edited by Home Air Direct; 02-25-2009 at 09:24 AM.
Home Air Direct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 10:27 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

central air unit removel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Home Air Direct View Post
Call a pro for the vac or reclaim, and restart. Making an error here is against the law. Don't risk it. I love DIY, but I think all of us need to draw the line at times and I think this is one of those time.
Agreed! Do the things that give you the best reward over risk. There are too many things that can be done wrong when drawing down, disconnecting, re-brazing, recharging and restarting a system when you consider the minimal cost in paying a pro to take the risk.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 12:22 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,060
Default

central air unit removel


"Best reward over risk", I like that. I would rather work a few hours overtime at what I do best and pay a Pro to shingle a steep roof or a painter to do a neat job vs the mess I would make.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:03 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

central air unit removel


Not to mention the fact that unless you have an EPA card you will get Jail time in a federal slammer as well as a $25,000 fine.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,518
Default

central air unit removel


What HVAClover said. Big time legal problems if you don't have the EPA license or if you release the freon to atmosphere.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 08:44 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default

central air unit removel


dont move it yourself there are to many easily breakable part and u have to recover the refrigerant and if it is an R-22 system then u will not be able to get any anymore the E.P.A. stop making it due to ozone depletion and plus if u do not have a universial E.P.A. license then u will not be able to purchase and 30 lbs. bottle of refrigerant (most systems require at least 32 lbs.). My professional advice is dont move the unit let a qualifed tech do it.
drafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 08:56 PM   #9
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

central air unit removel


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Not to mention the fact that unless you have an EPA card you will get Jail time in a federal slammer as well as a $25,000 fine.

Only if caught
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 09:01 PM   #10
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

central air unit removel


Quote:
Originally Posted by drafter View Post
(most systems require at least 32 lbs.).

I doubt he could move it without a crane if it takes that much refrigerant
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 05:21 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

central air unit removel


Quote:
Originally Posted by drafter View Post
dont move it yourself there are to many easily breakable part and u have to recover the refrigerant and if it is an R-22 system then u will not be able to get any anymore the E.P.A. stop making it due to ozone depletion and plus if u do not have a universial E.P.A. license then u will not be able to purchase and 30 lbs. bottle of refrigerant (most systems require at least 32 lbs.). My professional advice is dont move the unit let a qualifed tech do it.
The EPA has never made refrigerant.

The only resi systems I've seen that had 32 pounds of refrigerant in them.
Were over charged by some hack.

R22 is still made today, and will be for years to come.

If you think its best for the OP to use a contractor. Just say so.
Don't make crap up.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 07:40 AM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

central air unit removel


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The EPA has never made refrigerant.

The only resi systems I've seen that had 32 pounds of refrigerant in them.
Were over charged by some hack.

R22 is still made today, and will be for years to come.

If you think its best for the OP to use a contractor. Just say so.
Don't make crap up.

Been, did you notice not one period was used? I don't know, maybe it's just me who can't make sense out of gibberish,
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 02-26-2009 at 07:52 AM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 12:15 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

central air unit removel


I have plenty of periods in my post.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 01:03 PM   #14
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

central air unit removel


Not you, silly! I mean Drafter.

I quoted your post thinking his post would show too.

Sorry.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:29 PM   #15
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

central air unit removel


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I have plenty of periods in my post.


I'm old enough , I don't have them anymore

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Central Air Outside Unit Cover czars HVAC 2 01-07-2009 10:23 PM
central unit will not come on ....please help guyasc HVAC 5 08-24-2008 05:10 PM
Used Central Air Unit? shep28 HVAC 2 04-21-2007 07:59 PM
central air unit question princessme HVAC 4 07-08-2006 09:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.