Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2010, 06:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: tallmadge, oh
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

central air fan


i just purchased a house and i just realized that the central air fan kicks on while the furnace fan is on.. this doesn't seem normal to me..

i dont know what all info is needed, but the a/c thing is outside and it is a gas furnace.. the furnace fan is pretty loud but it may be because the house is completely empty. the thermostat is brand new..

im sure there is an obvious important thing i forgot to mention, but well go with this for now

thanks - steve

i also did a search for what this may be and all i found was something in florida saying that is how the heat pumps are supposed to run- and that a gas furnace from up north is different...

im from ohio..
mshrmhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 11:20 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

central air fan


Could be the new thermostat is wired wrong.

or, it could be you have a dual fuel system. And then it is operating right.

Post brand and model numbers of both the outdoor unit, and the thermostat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 12:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: tallmadge, oh
Posts: 4
Default

central air fan


I put the wires where the old wires were on the old one, pretty sure anyway :D but maybe it was wired incorrectly before.. ( the old one was froze and couldn't change any thing)ill get the model # for tstat, outside unit, and furnace later tonight when I go to that house (im not living there yet, so ill have to stop after work.. thanks
mshrmhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 08:34 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: tallmadge, oh
Posts: 4
Default

central air fan


furnace model i think is Rheem Criterion II Gas Furnace (1994 I think)
Thermostat - Hunter model 44360
Outside Unit-all I could find was CCU10A24A-1
It is a four wire system

I believe I found the problem, but would like confirmation before I go and start switching wires..

My blue wire is plugged into the spot for heat pump compressor (Y1) and I think it should be plugged into air conditioner compressor (Y/O)

red wire = 24 volt
green wire= fan
white wire= heating

system switch is set to standard, and not heat pump
fan option switch is set to HG and not HE, which i believe is gas or electric switch

please let me know if i should switch the y wire- thanks
mshrmhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 08:48 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

central air fan


You can change it. I velieve on that furnace, it changes the blower ramp up profile in cooling mode.

However. That isn't what is causing the outdoor unit to run. Your stat must be sending 24 volts through teh blue wire during a heat call. So either you have a bad stat, or its miswired at the stat.
Or, you have a short in the thermostat wires. Could be wires are touching behind the stat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 09:52 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: tallmadge, oh
Posts: 4
Default

central air fan


i switched the y1 to y/o and when i turned it on, the outside unit wasnt on.. so i switched it back to y1 to se if it ws gonna be on and it was off, so i think you were right about the wires being shorted behind the stat... seems ok now.. ill let you know if it happens again.. thank you

also, should i have the wire in the y1 or the y/o? since it is not a heat pump (that i know of) i would assume the y/o.. but i dont know what the ramp up thing you mentioned means..

thank you again -steve
mshrmhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 10:15 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

central air fan


Wired to the Y/O, so it knows to use the higher blower speed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
mshrmhd (03-03-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
central air vs window units sharonjo General DIY Discussions 6 07-22-2009 08:37 PM
Worth it for Central Air John84 HVAC 13 07-21-2009 06:00 PM
adding central air poger67 HVAC 3 04-28-2009 09:58 AM
Central vac, freezer, and gas water heater on same circuit? curls00 Electrical 7 03-10-2008 09:57 PM
Installing Central Air using existing heat ducts lvlacic HVAC 2 06-25-2005 12:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.