Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2010, 12:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Central air diy install?


I recently aquires a complete system less the lines to install in my house. there are no lines with the system. the condencer has been installed and the compressor is in location. the entire system is empty of refrigerant and i need to install new lines and have someone charge it. any advise? i dont think pre charged lines will work due to the condenser and compressor being empty. can i plumb it in with 1/4 and 3/4 flex copper?

drewcifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 12:41 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

Central air diy install?


danger ...danger.... you better make sure the condenser service valves are closed as you received it that is freon within the condenser and it is atmospheric you are screwed...right off with moisture.that has to be positive from the factory.as for piping if you BRAZE you can knock it off what's the freon tagged 410a thats 800 psi running how's your brazing.all the work will be voided without a good MICRON RECORDED VACUUM you can do it if you can hook up guages and be 100% confident in that brazing......the freon you need a license to buy it..so all this is covered with a local guy maybe doing side work and can knock it off after hours.if you see a local guy who is hanging in his truck with the AC on doing paper work don't be shy tap on his window and ask does he or fellow guys do side work .explain the cond/evap are in and basiclly you need it piped up and charged...cash on the perverbable BARREL HEAD and your done.


Last edited by biggles; 07-11-2010 at 12:46 PM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 05:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,228
Default

Central air diy install?


Your already ahead of the game by having the equipment in place, don't mess around with the lines or final work it takes a highly skilled trained mechanic to complete the work. Any body could do what's already done the hard part is left.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 06:25 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,729
Default

Central air diy install?


No one can tell you what size line set is needed since you didn't list brand and size of system. Or how long the line set will be.

Since the system is open to the atmosphere. The current liquid line drier in the cabinet(if it has one) will need to be removed and replaced. And then a good vacuum pulled. Before it can be recharged.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone install a tin/copper style ceiling? flashme18 Remodeling 7 07-19-2009 07:56 AM
cutting shingles to install gutters Chicago Bill General DIY Discussions 2 02-27-2009 05:42 AM
Line set size for Central AC JoeFL77 HVAC 5 05-21-2008 09:23 AM
Help me to install a paver patio 707782 Landscaping & Lawn Care 5 09-28-2007 07:42 PM
Installing Central Air using existing heat ducts lvlacic HVAC 2 06-25-2005 12:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.