Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-06-2013, 05:10 PM   #1

Share |

Central Air

Hey everyone, am looking for some general observations regarding A/C units and installers. I am preparing to purchase one for the upcoming cooling season and would like input.

The installers of the new furnace last year installed a coil as part of the package. The hookups are there so I will be in the market for the compressor and line kit.

Im looking for general thoughts about brands, models, line kits, and anything to be wary about with this purchase. I have no favorites and am completely open to any brand.

The Heating and AC place that installed the furnace recommended a 2 ton unit, from what little I can gather it seems 1.5 might be a bit more appropriate but im no expert and the internet isnt always 100% so I cant say that for sure.

Any advice is appreciated!

quackaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:19 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified

Central Air

Quote:
Originally Posted by quackaddict View Post
The installers of the new furnace last year installed a coil as part of the package. The hookups are there so I will be in the market for the compressor and line kit.

Im looking for general thoughts about brands, models, line kits, and anything to be wary about with this purchase. I have no favorites and am completely open to any brand.
Do you have any reason to not stick with the brand of the furnace you have?
Beyond that... do you know what sort of coil was installed?

Long story short... it's very much like Ford vs Chevy vs Dodge.
It's not that there aren't differences between brands... it's that the differences that exist matter far less than how well the rest of the job is planned/done.

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 02-06-2013 at 06:00 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:20 PM   #3

Central Air