Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2011, 09:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Carrier Weathermaker Gas Furnace - No blower for heat


I moved into a house this summer that has this furnace. It has worked fine for the A/C all summer functioning as it should

Now that fall has arrived I attempted to use the heat yesterday and the the blower will not turn on. I set the tstat for heat and the burner ignites and will run forever but the blower fan does not come on at all.

I turned the tstat all the way down and turned the A/C back on and the blower turns on just like it has all summer.

If I set the tstat from auto to on for the fan the blower does not come on either.

I don't know if it is the tstat or not since it does work for the a/c just not the heat.

There is only a single green LED on at the furnace while the heat is on and if I am reading the sticker right means it is operating in low heat mode. If the a/c is running there are no lights on in the furnace.

nerdbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 09:59 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 335
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Carrier Weathermaker Gas Furnace - No blower for heat


The T-stat turns on the fan in A/C mode the furnace control board turns on the fan in heat mode. Doesn't look good for your board.

I'm presuming that if you have a 2 stage furnace that it shuts down the manual call for fan in heat mode and runs the motor down to low speed. Could be that low speed on the fan motor is toast. You could check and see if you have voltage going to the fan motor in heating mode on low speed tap. You may be able to lock the furnace into high heat mode by adjusting dip switch settings to bring heat onto high fire and fan may run on high speed, that may take you back to fan motor, or may just be bad board.

HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HVACDave For This Useful Post:
nerdbit (09-20-2011)
Old 09-19-2011, 06:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Carrier Weathermaker Gas Furnace - No blower for heat


If you have 1 transformer, the thermostat terminals may need to be jumped on RC and RH. RC is for A/C, RH is for gas heat.

Take a look first and try to find a manual, online or not, for your thermostat.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to diyorpay For This Useful Post:
nerdbit (09-20-2011)
Old 09-20-2011, 12:20 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Carrier Weathermaker Gas Furnace - No blower for heat


Looking into the wiring and information about the weathermaker as well as the suggestion earlier is a multi-stage unit. I discovered that the tstat was for single-stage only. I purchased a new Honeywell RTH6450 and now the heat is working fine. However, I have a new problem. The outdoor a/c compressor has stopped working. The blower comes on but outside doesn't kick in. I set the tstat as a multi-stage two-wire heat single wire cool as that is what is is I have a W1 and a W2 and Y. If I set the tstat as a multi-stage two-wire heat/cool and and connect Y from the furnace to Y2 on the tstat then then everything works as it should.

Is this normal? according to the tstat manual y2 will only be hot when there is more than a 3 degree difference in temp. I am doing something wrong?
nerdbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 06:56 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Carrier Weathermaker Gas Furnace - No blower for heat


See if this site helps:

http://thermostats.highperformancehv...g-colors-code/
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 10:31 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Carrier Weathermaker Gas Furnace - No blower for heat


All is well now. The new thermostat is hooked up and both heat/AC work fine. I checked continuity across RC and Y on the tstat while it was "cool on" and had nothing. While I was in town I grabbed another thermostat thinking that may be the problem. When I got home tonight for laughs I changed the batteries and tested it and everything worked great.

Sometimes the simple things are the biggest pains. I just wasn't expecting it to come with dead batteries.

Thanks for all the help!

nerdbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Help with furnace blower problem Spydey HVAC 6 12-15-2010 08:18 PM
Blower Motor in Carrier WeatherMaker 58MVP080 pbong HVAC 0 10-06-2009 08:08 PM
Bryant Furnace Blower Running Constantly GhostBuster HVAC 15 11-30-2008 09:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.