Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 01:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

carrier weathermaker??


I have an older Weathermaker just for heat bought it with a fried board so I installed a new ugraded to ICM 275...now when I start the furnace it starts fine... pilot lights but when the main burner is suppose to start the inline sec-1 2 amp fuse blows everytime and the furnace shuts off??? Any ideas?
eric1192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 03:23 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

carrier weathermaker??


Short in the system. The furnace blew the old board because of it.

You may have a White Elephant on your hands.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 05:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

carrier weathermaker??


I also just found out the pilot ignition keep firing until the fuse blows??
eric1192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 05:38 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

carrier weathermaker??


Unless you have a meter and know how to use it, it will be hard to tell what's up.

Is this a 80% or 90% furnace?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 05:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

carrier weathermaker??


Not sure on the %... I do have a meter, tried manually so start the main burner with a jumper and the fuse blew, I took apart the pilot assembly to see If it was dirty and and looked pretty clean the sensor was a little tarnished but aside of that it was all good, I'm getting a nice blue flame!
eric1192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 05:57 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

carrier weathermaker??


what size is that fuse..........sec-1 2? if it is a 2 amp the draw from the main burner coming on might be knocking it out not shorting it.if you put a amprobe on the fuse line and see a spike thats a short.might just need a higher rating same type to fit holder.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Carrier Weathermaker Infinity Not Working! MaxPierre HVAC 27 01-19-2009 06:30 PM
Carrier Weathermaker SX Problem hchampagne HVAC 2 09-23-2008 09:48 PM
Carrier Weathermaker SX - Weak Air Movement eAndy HVAC 4 09-12-2008 09:29 PM
Carrier Weathermaker SX Exhaust Fan Motor rickvj HVAC 6 01-22-2008 10:45 PM
Carrier code 31 on 58MXA (WeatherMaker 9000?) SteveAnnArbor HVAC 7 11-05-2007 06:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.