Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2012, 09:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


I have a Carrier Infinity HVAC system, and this evening the thermostat lost power. I used my google prowess and found this, so this evening I crawled up in the attic and removed both panels. The 3 amp fuse is good, but there is an amber LED next to the fuse that is lit.

I've tried powering off the unit at both the switch in the attic and at the circuit breaker box, and powering back up. No dice.

Any ideas?

The Raddish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:08 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


Remove the thermostat from its base.

Using a volt meter measure voltage between Terminal R and C.

Should have 24 vac

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:11 PM   #3
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,531
Rewards Points: 578
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


Are you saying the thermostat lost power so nothing is reading on the thermostat or are you saying you are not getting any heat?

Does your thermostat have low or dead batterys? Replace them if so.

If the batterys are good and you don't have an electrical meter, you can remove the thermostat sub base and jumper the R & W for temporary heat and to check if those thermostat wires & connections are good.
Let us know what happens
how is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:24 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


I'm saying the thermostat is completely turned off. No display, no LEDS, nothing on the screen. I'll check for voltage in a bit and report back.

I don't need heat, but tomorrow is going to be 85 and humid. So I have time.
The Raddish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:29 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


If you don't have 24 vac across R and C then jump R to G to see if the fan come on.

If the fan comes on then you have 24vac to the stat and lost the connection between the stat and furnace on the wire connecting the C

If the fan doesn't come on then check voltage at the furnace between R and C if you have 24 vac then you lost the connection between the furnace and stat on the R connection

IF you don't get 24 vac at the furnace double check the fuse. If the fuse is ok you may have a transformer out or control board
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:05 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


Okay, I got the thermostat off. I have four wires:

A - green
B - yellow
C - white
D - red

My volt meter is at work (the one time I forget to bring it home).
The Raddish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:11 PM   #7
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


Jumper Red and Green should turn on fan


Makes no sence though. Only four wires should have 5 for a ground

Red - 24 vac
green - fan
yellow - a/c
white - heat


Sure your stat doesn't need new batteries?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 625
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


C (common) and D (hot)are where you want to check for 24 volts. Doubly check that the wires are inserted correctly into the t-stat as well as the green connector on the other end.
hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:16 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 625
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
Jumper Red and Green should turn on fan


Makes no sence though. Only four wires should have 5 for a ground

Red - 24 vac
green - fan
yellow - a/c
white - heat


Sure your stat doesn't need new batteries?
The Infinity stat is Carrier's communicating stat: A and B are data, C is common and D is hot. It could be that the stat or it's screen have died, I've had a few of those.
hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac benny For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (08-06-2013)
Old 03-18-2012, 11:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


Jumping red to any of the others does not produce any action.

Back in the attic, if I remove the fuse then no LEDS light when power is applied and the interlock held down. If I insert the fuse, I get a green LED for about a half second, then instead I get the amber LED. This tells me the fuse is not the problem.

The wires in the thermostat are tight in the jumper block.
The Raddish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:30 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac benny View Post
The Infinity stat is Carrier's communicating stat: A and B are data, C is common and D is hot. It could be that the stat or it's screen have died, I've had a few of those.
It's not just the screen. None of the LEDs are lit either, and the HVAC unit doesn't run at all.
The Raddish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:32 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 625
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Raddish View Post
Jumping red to any of the others does not produce any action.

Back in the attic, if I remove the fuse then no LEDS light when power is applied and the interlock held down. If I insert the fuse, I get a green LED for about a half second, then instead I get the amber LED. This tells me the fuse is not the problem.

The wires in the thermostat are tight in the jumper block.
DO NOT jump the wires in that stat, it does not work the same way that a conventional stat does. You need to measure if you are getting 24 volts between C and D. Is it a furnace or fan coil that you have? You can try jumping R and W in the furnace, disconnecting the green bus connection.
hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac benny For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (08-06-2013)
Old 03-18-2012, 11:43 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


It's a 16.8 SEER split system, that acts like a heat pump when only mild heating is needed, and uses gas when it gets cold. The compressor is a multi-stage compressor. It is four years old next month.
The Raddish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:40 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


That really sounds like either your control board is bad. Or for sure your thermostat is out. If you have the led light on even though its amber color then you have some sort of 24 vac coming into the control board. Although it still could be the transformer isn't producing enough 24 volts to power up the control board, that is possible also. Amber led may indicate just that the unit is off. Kinda like in your computer when it goes into sleep mode. Let us know what you find. Try what hvac benny is saying to do.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 04:59 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Infinity Thermostat lost power - won't power up


Turns out the limit switch turned off the system because the top drain pan wasn't draining. Cleaned out the drains and vacuumed out the drain pan. System turned on, working just fine.

The Raddish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect Desert spring humidifier to carrier infinity 96 lshulster HVAC 5 12-10-2010 11:27 AM
do I need to use the infinity thermostat with the infinity system or can I use the edge aar HVAC 3 07-07-2010 07:42 PM
Which honeywell thermostat should I buy for my Carrier heat pump? mannypp HVAC 29 01-30-2010 03:21 PM
HELP! Carrier Weathermaker Infinity Not Working! MaxPierre HVAC 27 01-19-2009 07:30 PM
Carrier Infinity Thermostat "Staging" Adrianjohnm HVAC 2 12-11-2007 02:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.