Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 06:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


I was working on a 90 Plus Propane gas furnace, The original complaint was that the blower motor was running constantly, but no heat. The induction motor was not running and I ordered a new board for it and stilll no induction motor. I diconnected the high limit switch and now the blower motor and the induction motor comes on but the hot surface ignitor never gets hot. I have checked line voltage at the male/female connector and their is no voltage present. Question # 1 Why does the blower run constant and Question #2 Why does the hot surface ignitor not get hot..... I have also made sure the t stat is set to auto and not on.... Thanks in advance cause this is driving me crazy.....

Electric Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 435
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Electric Guru View Post
I was working on a 90 Plus Propane gas furnace, The original complaint was that the blower motor was running constantly, but no heat. The induction motor was not running and I ordered a new board for it and stilll no induction motor. I diconnected the high limit switch and now the blower motor and the induction motor comes on but the hot surface ignitor never gets hot. I have checked line voltage at the male/female connector and their is no voltage present. Question # 1 Why does the blower run constant and Question #2 Why does the hot surface ignitor not get hot..... I have also made sure the t stat is set to auto and not on.... Thanks in advance cause this is driving me crazy.....
guess your not an electric guru

Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:50 PM   #3
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
guess your not an electric guru
heheh...
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:53 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
guess your not an electric guru
And I guess you're not an Air Conditoner Tech either, Since you couldnt answer the question.. I'll wait for someone with more experience to answer my question since you clearly lack the knowledge and you are not matured enough to talk to.: scooter: Good job Scooter,,,, LMFAO@ YOU
Electric Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:00 PM   #5
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Electric Guru View Post
And I guess you're not an Air Conditoner Tech either, Since you couldnt answer the question.. I'll wait for someone with more experience to answer my question since you clearly lack the knowledge and you are not matured enough to talk to.: scooter: Good job Scooter,,,, LMFAO@ YOU
I think Technow is right.

He knows the answer, as do I , but maybe you're getting in over your head?

LP is even more hazardous a than NG.

Can you tell me what the sequence of operation is? Might be helpful.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:00 PM   #6
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 435
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Electric Guru View Post
And I guess you're not an Air Conditoner Tech either, Since you couldnt answer the question.. I'll wait for someone with more experience to answer my question since you clearly lack the knowledge and you are not matured enough to talk to.: scooter: Good job Scooter,,,, LMFAO@ YOU

Do you have voltage where it needs to be? Did you have voltage to the original motor? From the board you replaced?????
Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:07 PM   #7
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 435
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


LMFAO at you too. I am in a warm house....
Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:09 PM   #8
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
LMFAO at you too. I am in a warm house....
LOL...the most famous come-back in HVAC history.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:16 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,203
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Okay, I feel a bit sorry for him and will help. You have the limit switch disconnected so what do you think it does? It turns off the burner when the furnace gets too hot. Check if you are getting 24 volts from G to C on the board. If you are then the fan will run all the time and the tstat may be faulty or you got a short. Try do some research into furnace sequence of operation instead of parts changing and your life will get easier.

If the wiring diagram is there on the back of the door carefully study it and see where the limit switch is. Uusally the induction motor won't run if the limit is open but some of the older units where wired differently and it may be in series with the gas valve and igniter. Patience my friend will get you there.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-15-2012 at 07:21 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-15-2012)
Old 11-15-2012, 07:44 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,288
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Electric Guru View Post
I was working on a 90 Plus Propane gas furnace, The original complaint was that the blower motor was running constantly, but no heat. The induction motor was not running and I ordered a new board for it and stilll no induction motor. I diconnected the high limit switch and now the blower motor and the induction motor comes on but the hot surface ignitor never gets hot. I have checked line voltage at the male/female connector and their is no voltage present. Question # 1 Why does the blower run constant and Question #2 Why does the hot surface ignitor not get hot..... I have also made sure the t stat is set to auto and not on.... Thanks in advance cause this is driving me crazy.....
hey guy don't take it personal...but havc is not as easy as some may think..unless you are trained...and i mean a trained tech with book and on the job training while you may be a good electrician service on hvac equiptment takes more...sorry for the guys razzing you but we all can see the problem ....follow yuri post..get that furnace going...and stick to wiring Iam sure you do it better....ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
Electric Guru (11-15-2012)
Old 11-15-2012, 08:48 PM   #11
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Okay, I feel a bit sorry for him and will help. You have the limit switch disconnected so what do you think it does? It turns off the burner when the furnace gets too hot. Check if you are getting 24 volts from G to C on the board. If you are then the fan will run all the time and the tstat may be faulty or you got a short. Try do some research into furnace sequence of operation instead of parts changing and your life will get easier.

If the wiring diagram is there on the back of the door carefully study it and see where the limit switch is. Uusally the induction motor won't run if the limit is open but some of the older units where wired differently and it may be in series with the gas valve and igniter. Patience my friend will get you there.
Yuri, you are such a softy...just hope this guy does not blow up the house.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac5646 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-15-2012)
Old 11-15-2012, 10:34 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Okay, I feel a bit sorry for him and will help. You have the limit switch disconnected so what do you think it does? It turns off the burner when the furnace gets too hot. Check if you are getting 24 volts from G to C on the board. If you are then the fan will run all the time and the tstat may be faulty or you got a short. Try do some research into furnace sequence of operation instead of parts changing and your life will get easier.

If the wiring diagram is there on the back of the door carefully study it and see where the limit switch is. Uusally the induction motor won't run if the limit is open but some of the older units where wired differently and it may be in series with the gas valve and igniter. Patience my friend will get you there.
Thankyou Yuri, As a matter of fact I've been doing HVAC/R since 2005 and I Have a Universal EPA License, So I'm not gonna blow a house up.
I have checked, both the limit switch/rollout switch and the High Limit for the fan. and both of them Ohmed out. And yes to the other Jack Wagon's on here I know the start the sequence of operations. What really crazy is its been about two years since I have been on this site and nobody gave me a hard time, my how times have changed. Mostly people on here would give all kinds of good Ideas, not negative statement. Once again Thankyou Yuri. As a matter of fact I remember your username and I believed you have answered alot of my questions in the past. I went under a different username back then though.
Electric Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Electric Guru For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-16-2012)
Old 11-15-2012, 10:38 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
LMFAO at you too. I am in a warm house....
I'm in a warm house too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was trying to fix the furnace for a good friend of mine.
Electric Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:06 PM   #14
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


[quote=Electric Guru;1053214]
I have checked, both the limit switch/rollout switch and the High Limit for the fan. and both of them Ohmed out. end quote
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 05:29 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 67
Default

Carrier Hot Surface Ignitor


just wave that universal EPA card at it and it will fix it

mrairflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Ignitor Placement hzechiel HVAC 2 11-29-2011 01:07 PM
Ignitor Flash Code Question Doc Holliday HVAC 16 11-04-2011 07:09 PM
Spray paint accident help the_M_man Painting 19 07-22-2011 02:14 PM
need to slightly raise deck surface Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Building & Construction 3 09-01-2009 09:44 AM
new hot surface ignitor, still no luck steve1971 HVAC 3 11-09-2006 05:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.