Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2007, 04:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Siffleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Share |
Question

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?


Hi there,
My question is a bit DYI but I hope it's not against forum rules. I got a HVAC guy that will finalize my installation but he didn't know Carrier(he is doing commercial stuff , never installed a carrier residential)

the combo is a 40QNQ018 with a 38QRF018 heat pump

I have done the house myself but I let the HVAC finalize the installation

wiring has been pre-wire by a qualified electrician

refregerant line (5/8 and 3/8 lines) have been pass thru wall by myself 50f of 5/8, 50f of 3/8

got both service manual to give it to my HVAC man who will connect the hosing
I might need another manual because the wall unit manual specify a 6lbs precharged (I tought the precharged was into the exterior unit????)

there also a note the factory charge is based on 25ft of interconnecting line

does that mean I have a total of 100ft and he will need to add gas ? if yes, will he be able to calculate what he need or he need a specific chart from carrier ?


the purpose of all this isn't a DYI, I just want to give everything my hvac man will need to complete the installation because he never done a carrier residential install. I want to be sure he will have everything to do a perfect job.

I've already call authorized carrier installer and none of them wanted to install that because I already own the unit (bought it from carrier directly)


Last edited by Siffleu; 11-04-2007 at 04:54 PM.
Siffleu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 03:54 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 36
Default

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?


Only the outside condensing units are pre-charged....
What gas is it on R410? R22?
How long is your pipe run? mmmm sounds like you want to do it your self to me?

fridgeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 03:59 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 36
Default

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?


just remember ...A tradesman will have and use the correct tools, ie will not pipe purge....vac pump down to at leat 500 microns....this is something you yourself can not do...R410 also opperates at very high discharge pressures and can very dangerous.
fridgeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Siffleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?


no !!!

I just prepare everything for my HVAC...

I build the house and bought the 5/8 line (50f) and 3/8 line (50f) and I've done the piping into walls

had the electrical part pre wired by the electrician

pre wired the 18/8 wire info wall

bought and install the exterior unit on the stand

I still need to install the interior unit onto the wall

I will not play with gas.. !(it's r410 )

but I want to be sure the hvac guy will have all info to do the job because I don't think he done carrier residential installation.. (he only do commercial stuff)
Siffleu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 07:04 PM   #5
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Default

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?


Hi Siffleu

I read through your post. I will tell you the straight from the hip answer. If the technician you are using does not know R410 equipment, find one that does! There is only one way to set the charge on this unit, it is by using the sub-cool method as you have to use a expansion valve. To get the proper performance out of this and any piece of equipment made by the Carrier corporation. You have to set the charge and set the proper blower speed. If they do not have the ability to do this for you, you are going to be foolishly spending money. The other thing that must be adressed when dealing with synthetic oils and refrigerants. The system must be evacuated to no more than 500 microns of moisture. In the installation guide you will see the proper method of doing this. I just don't want to see you get ripped off. If you need any further assistance, please let me know.

Good luck
Rusty
__________________
Character is doing the right thing even when no one is looking. Intelligence is understanding and practicing the meaning of character.

Last edited by #CARRIERMAN; 11-06-2007 at 10:46 AM.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 08:04 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Siffleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?


thanks for the input !

I will check with him

quick question for you
is it common to have the indoor unit(230vAc) plugged in the same place as the exterior unit in the disconnect box ?

during the construction of the house, an electrician put a 12/2 from the electrical box (using 20amp breaker) to the exterior and also a 14/3 from exterior to the indoor unit.. (in case a need for 120v)

so I've asked few electrician over forums (in my area, so local law apply) and they tell it's ok to plug them into the disconnect box, on the "output" part of the disconnect box

what do you think ?
Siffleu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 08:48 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 190
Default

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?


R410 Requires special equipment - i.e. manifold gauge specifically for it. If this guy never worked with this type, he likely does not have the proper tools. And depending on where you are, your install might require a residential licenced HVAC tech with R410 certification. A tech who knows R410 should have what is needed and should know what to do.
scorrpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 04:12 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 36
Default

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?


I will be interested to hear the out come.. plzzzz post..
fridgeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 07:01 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Siffleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?


I will hook up the indoor unit, connect electricity and control and then call my hvac man
Siffleu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 05:25 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Siffleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Carrier heat pump factory charge ?






almost done and ready for my hvac man....!!!

Siffleu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a House..heatpump or no? DavidsCPU HVAC 10 02-07-2010 10:22 PM
Fujitsu Heat Pump Concerns SanDiegoCool HVAC 3 03-19-2009 12:27 PM
please suggest me a heat pump system. caseym HVAC 7 10-10-2007 06:41 PM
Carrier Infinity T-stat and Performance heat pump gcole HVAC 3 10-03-2007 03:00 PM
heat pump not working kyleGR HVAC 2 05-30-2006 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.