Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2007, 08:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Gas Furnace 58MXA080


my fan ran all the time during summer so I just replaced the tstat a couple of weeks ago.

Now when I turn the heat on ... there is none. Again, fan runs all the time. On the LED it starts off with code 33 and then goes to 13, as advertised.

Kinda lost from here, the reset does not seem to do anything. Should the heat be "running" when I try to do the reset?

Any ideas what the problem could be here?

Thanks

fredfillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:23 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Gas Furnace 58MXA080


FWIW, The tstat I used was a Hunter Autosaver 550

I've run the "diagnostics". According to the service manual, I disconnect the R terminal on the control board and then short the Test terminal to the Com. LED is supposed to go out, mine just flashes quickly. When I remove the short it goes back to Code 33.

fredfillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:20 PM   #3
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Carrier Gas Furnace 58MXA080


Hi fredfillis

I would say that you have an open limit. Look on the back of the front panel of the furnace. On it you will see a legend that will tell you what each of the codes mean. I would venture to say you have either a rollout limit tripped or the vestibule limit is bad. If you have a voltmeter, turn the thermostat to the heat mode and check for voltage across the limits. If you show voltage at any one of the limits, that limit is open. Some of them have a reset button between the wires. However the vestibule limit does not, it is a automatic reset that has about a twelve trip life. If it is bad, I would reccomend checking the evaporator for blockage of air flow or use a better grade filter. Hope this helps, let us know if we can assist any further.

Good luck
Rusty
__________________
Character is doing the right thing even when no one is looking. Intelligence is understanding and practicing the meaning of character.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Gas Furnace 58MXA080


Thanks Rusty. I'll do those tests tomorrow. If the vestibule limit is bad, is it replaceable?
fredfillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:58 PM   #5
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Carrier Gas Furnace 58MXA080


Hi fredfillis

Yes the vestibule limit is replaceable. As with any electrical component, shut the power off. This limit is in the middle of the furnace, its dimensions are about 2" wide by about 3 1/2" high. It will either be black, brown, or a beige color. They usually run about $12.00 to $25.00 dollars.

Good luck
Rusty
__________________
Character is doing the right thing even when no one is looking. Intelligence is understanding and practicing the meaning of character.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 04:25 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Gas Furnace 58MXA080


Both limits check out correctly. No voltage across either. Both measure less than 2 ohms. Both show 26v to ground.

Just for fun, I pulled the wires off each and shorted them, started the furnace and got LED codes 33 then 13 just as before. I'm thinking control board.
fredfillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 06:47 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Gas Furnace 58MXA080


New control board and all is well.

Thanks

fredfillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier furnace help code 13 mudtruck HVAC 10 11-23-2013 03:24 PM
carrier furnace issues sbroways HVAC 2 10-15-2007 09:30 PM
Putting a new Motor in a Carrier Furnace... Wiring issues cbrent HVAC 3 10-08-2007 07:08 PM
My Carrier furnace is driving me crazy hifiuser HVAC 6 02-10-2007 10:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.