Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2011, 02:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


I have a Carrier #58 SA furnace that will not ignite. What can i do?

Mpalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 02:51 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,049
Rewards Points: 3,762
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


Describe what it does do.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:02 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


do you have an induced draft motor running? supplying air into the burners..if you do the Pressure Switch isn't making...telling the furnace to ignite with the ID running....
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 04:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


The motor is not running. I turn the thermostat up, set it to auto, set it to heat and nothing happens.
Mpalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 05:05 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,049
Rewards Points: 3,762
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


Did you check for a blown fuse, or a tripped breaker?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 05:20 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


do you have any LED lights within the furnace on the control board or up on the stat if it is digital with a LED screen....just so you understand i'm not talking about the supply fan motor in the unit,but the one mounted on the furnace above the burner that is the first item to run when the heating is called in....if you have even blinking lights on the circuit board or up on the stat i'm just want to see if you have 24Vs showing...if so remove the stat off the subbase and jump R to W take the W wire and screw it on the R teminal so you have 2 wires there on R..... that will give you a straight heat call see if the ID runs then....can you free spin the squirrel within the Induced draft motor?
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 05:21 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


There is no fuse to be found in the unit, I reset all of the breakers in my electrical panel.
Mpalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 05:48 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


Did you remove the service doors and really look for the fuse on the board? Do you have an electrical testing meter, preferrabley digital?
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 05:50 PM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


do you have any light on the stat or within the unit....just looking for indication that you have 24Vs...check the circuit board for a fuse mounted right on it do you have AC go to the stat and put the FAN to ON with all power switches on.....if you don't get that fan with the ON setting there selection your stat is shot....
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 10:40 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


Both service doors off and no circuit board to be found it must be under another cover. If I turn the fan switch to on the main air circulating blower will come on.
Mpalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 11:41 PM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Carrier furnace will not start


Again, pictures of all wiring and the inside of the furnace would greatly help but you can simply trace back the thermostat wires into the furnace to lead you to the control board if you have one.

Btw and not to seem rude but we need to know if you understand the difference between the draft inducer motor and the blower motor. I say this because you were previously asked if the inducer was running and you replied that the motor was not running so just attempting to clarify where we stand, or where you stand rather.

The draft inducer motor is the tiny motor just inside of the unit that exhausts the burnt gas fumes out through the metal flue pipe.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Furnace code 33 @ startup blower fan sounds like jet Frank Ottawa HVAC 6 04-19-2011 08:12 AM
Carrier Furnace help code 31 fauxjaux HVAC 6 04-22-2010 11:36 PM
Carrier Furnace Problem... cornation71 HVAC 3 12-10-2009 08:52 AM
Carrier Furnace won't automatically start vermontservant HVAC 2 01-27-2009 10:10 PM
Zoning With Carrier Infinity Furnace ddartmouth HVAC 1 01-05-2009 12:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.