Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-14-2008, 12:29 PM   #1

Share |
Unhappy

Carrier Furnace LED Code 34 and 14

My Carrier furnace started doing something strange yesterday. Wouldn't come on at all so I turned it off (power / gas) and when I turned it on again it worked fine but quit late in the night. This morning I ran through the same sequence and it worked for awhile and then quit again.

The blower comes on, the flames light up but then the flames go out after about 10 seconds. Blower runs its cycle and then quits. LED code goes from 33 to 34 and then, I think to 14 - Ignition Lockout.

Do I have to call a furnace guy or do you have something far less expensive that I, a complete novice, can try?

Thanks a lot - it's supposed to snow here today so anything you can help with would be great! Sherri in Calgary!

sherjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 04:29 PM   #2

You can try removing the flame sensor(in front of the far left burner) and cleaning it with fine sandpaper or steel wool.

HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 12:11 PM   #3

I'll give that a try if it stops again. Two days of powering off and on to get heat and now it's worked for over two days as normal (and the temp is about -10 Celsius today so thank goodness!).
Old 03-19-2008, 09:47 AM   #4

Cleaning the flame rod is definitely your first step. This should be done on an annual basis anyhow as part of good preventative maintenance procedures. Anyhow, I run a heating and A/C company in Calgary...call me at 226-6066 if you need any further help or need me to look at it.
Thanks, Sean
statman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 09:55 AM   #5