Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2009, 10:14 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


Hello all, first time poster here and hoping someone can offer some guidance. I have a Carrier AC and Furnace (model 58STA090-10116. Manufactured in December of 2003) in my home. One of my neighbors has his own heating and air business and I had him split my system into 2 zones. One upstairs and one Downstairs. It is working great except for one small thing that he and I cant seem to figure out. He said he was going to get some opinions from some other ac guys and get back to me, but I figured I might work it on my end too. It operates fine until after the a/c call is done. The purge cycle begins and then the fan runs for about 90 seconds, there is a clunk (and the air flow decreases for a second) and then it runs for about another 30 seconds and shuts off. It seems it is running high speed for the first 90 seconds as the furnace does by defaut for a purge after an ac call and then reverts to slower fan only speed for the remainder of the zone controls 2 minute purge cycle. Someone had suggested that the j2 jumper on the control board needs to be clipped for it to work properly, but I wanted to confirm that prior to doing so. Does anyone else have any ideas? Thanks for any help you can offer!

bmccarron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 11:17 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


If we knew which Honeywell zone panel that would help.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 01:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


sorry i made sure i put the furnace model in and totally forgot the zone control. it is a emm-3
bmccarron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 03:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


What I believe is happening is that the control board now gets it's signal from the zone board as opposed to the t-stat. As a result, the zone board is doing a delay on break first. Then, the control board on the furnace is doing a delay on break. I am not certain if you can get rid of the "d.o.b" with the zone board, but it is likely that you there are dip switches on the furnace to alter the d.o.b. with it's control board.
Flashheatingand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 03:36 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


Not aware of that panel being able to have the purge overrode by cutting a jumper.
I could be wrong though.

Your furnace may have an adjustable "fan on" blower speed. If so, your contractor can adjust that, and probably eliminate the noise.

Or, he may be able to increase the furnace blower delay off time, to march the zone panel.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 08:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


The thing is that the zone board sends the signal to the furnace control. I think the simple thing to do is to wire the y from the zone board to the y/contactor lead. When the furnace board gets 24 v at the y terminal, there is blower off delay. Change the dip setting to no delay, or by-pass the furnace board. That way, it wont get the y signal.

I can be wrong, but based on the reading only, My bet is that is where the problem is. But that is just internet talk.
Flashheatingand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 08:38 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


If the board doesn't get a Y signal. then the blower won't go to cooling speed. And the evap coil could freeze.

Plus. It will still have a delay off on a heating call.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 09:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


Maybe you can turn off the furnace delays altogether. One could deal with the cooling fan speed thing if necessary, but something needs to be done about the heat delay. Either way, something needs to be done about that short cycle. Offhand, I don't know how to override the purge, unless you wire a push button switch at the living room coffee table.
Flashheatingand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 11:06 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


As far as I can tell, the blower off time for a cooling call is not adjustable, on either the zone control or the furnace

furnace install guide
http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc.../58st-19si.pdf

zone control
http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...it/68-3041.pdf

Can you tell i have been looking at this for a while?
bmccarron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 09:18 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


I took at look at the material you just posted. Look at page 24 on the furnace document. you will see some dip switch settings at the 12:00 postition on the control board. There is something there to deal with the blower delay.
Flashheatingand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 10:28 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


Yes I see that, but that only deals with the heating delay not the cooling. See page 50 and tell me what you think
bmccarron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 11:11 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


Cutting that jumper will probably just get you the noise sooner.

Ask your contractor what the temp rise is in heating mode.
It may be high enough that he can make heating and cooling speed the same. If he can, that will eliminate the noise.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 11:21 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


Is it possible on this unit to make them the same speed?
bmccarron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 11:28 AM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


Yes.

Just need to disconnect one of the 2 current speed taps. Cap it or park it. And run a jumper from that board terminal to the other terminal.

Then when either mode is called for, it runs at the same speed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 09:59 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

carrier furnace and honeywell zone control issue


You probably have figured this out by now, but. The zone board and the control board are both doing a purge. Unfortunately, the zone board does a purge at the lower speed, while the furnace purges cooling at a higher speed. Don't cut the j2 wire,

Two possible solutions. One is to remove the cool speed tap and jumper that speed with connection with the heat lead and use whichever wire is more appropriate (I would think the lower speed would be the first choice). Pretty much what Beenthere stated previously.

Another measure you can take which I believe, will pretty much do the same thing, is to remove the wires at the y terminal on the furnace board and wire-nut them together. Doing the jumper thing isn't rocket science, but you will need certain hardware, or need to cut wires...etc. It's just that taking off the wires is a less time consuming, and you can always put it back.

Flashheatingand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell TrueSteam with Carrier Infinity Control Llama HVAC 1 02-19-2009 04:20 PM
Honeywell stat wiring w/ Trane furnace JaePee HVAC 7 01-18-2009 06:50 AM
Zoning With Carrier Infinity Furnace ddartmouth HVAC 1 01-05-2009 11:55 AM
Weird Miller furnace issue Rugerfan HVAC 2 01-26-2008 08:31 AM
Carrier Infinity Control VS Honeywell VisionPRO 8000 Theromostat super_man4471 HVAC 2 04-26-2007 02:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.