Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2009, 07:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Furnace Error Codes


This is my first post, and I'm thrilled to find this site.

I have an 8-year-old Carrier 58TUA12016 furnace. When I turn on the heat, I get the following sequence of events:

1. the blower motor goes on for the correct length of time. But while it's going, the control unit is giving me a 12 code (1 short, 2 long).

2. the blower stops and the inducer motor comes on.

3. The next step should be the little strip of metal glowing orange, and the gas flow starting. But when the little click happens, the glow doesn't come, the gas doesn't start, and I get a 32 code.

Any ideas? Anybody fixed a similar problem?

Scott

spcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 05:59 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,612
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Carrier Furnace Error Codes


There is a legend on the back of the furnace door or in the owners manual telling you what a code 32 is. Cannot find that on my chart. Post it here.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 07:42 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Furnace Error Codes


Yuri - Thanks for responding!

Actually, that's one of my problems - I can't find the manual, and the codes aren't listed on the inside of the door.

I'm trying to track down a pdf of the manual. I'll respond when I get it.

Thanks!
spcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:48 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,281
Rewards Points: 2,224
Default

Carrier Furnace Error Codes


http://www.residential.carrier.com/support/index.shtml
Do a search with '58TUA' as the model @ http://www.residential.carrier.com/a...s/form.jsp?b=c I was able to find the books with little search needed from Carrier's website.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 09:44 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Furnace Error Codes


Thanks, gregzoll!

The manual still doesn't have the codes, but I found this description of Code 32 elsewhere on the board.

- Improper vent sizing (don't think so, this has not changed)
- Low inducer motor voltage 115 V (I'll check but I don't think so)
- Defective Inducer Motor (Nope - it always comes on)
- Excessive wind (nope)
- Inadequate combustion air supply (ust replaced filter and there are no other obstructions)
- Disconnected or obstructed pressure tubing (Is this the little bit of black rubber tube below the gas valve? I'll check it)
- Defective pressure switch (I think this or the pressure tubing may be the problem)
- Restricted vent (Nope)


I'm guessing the pressure switch or the pressure tubing. Is there an existing thread on how to check or repair this?

Thanks for your help!
spcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Furnace help code 31 fauxjaux HVAC 6 04-22-2010 10:36 PM
Carrier furnace problems BigK75 HVAC 1 07-30-2009 05:16 PM
Carrier 58MCA Furnace No Heat (Error 33) zerafah49 HVAC 1 12-10-2008 07:32 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.