Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 05:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

carrier furnace


my furnace will run until the room is to the thermostat set temp. It then goes to the blower only. The led flashes 1 short 1 long then 3 short, it is 8 years old
wpm paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 05:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Default

carrier furnace


hi on the panel some place on the furnace there should be a label explaining the codes ,, look see what code it is and let us know which saftey its going off on,,model number to will help
hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:18 PM   #3
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

carrier furnace


It 13 code. Limit or roll out switch. Check filter
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:46 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

carrier furnace


the filter is clean
wpm paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Default

carrier furnace


did you check the codes on the panel ?? thats where you should start
hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

carrier furnace


model # 58msa
wpm paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Default

carrier furnace


wpm please look on the panel for codes it will sure speed up the process ty
hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 129
Default

carrier furnace


Check the description of the codes on the panel. It will tell you what's going on.
I don't have the codes memorized.
kirwinjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:07 PM   #9
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Default

carrier furnace


I believe a code 13 means that a limit or roll out switch has be activated for more than 3 minutes.
Either the furnace has been overheating/ the flame has been rolling out the front of the heat exchanger/ the limit or rollout switch is faulty.
This is code that may be indicating a serious monoxide condition.

Do you have a/c? (dirty coil?) Are all the heating and return vents open or uncovered? Do you have dirty air filters in the heating outlets?

A electrical meter will tell you if either the main limit or the roll out switches have tripped.
A temp rise test will tell you if the furnace is actualy overheating.

.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier furnace problem. Pilot lights, no burner Donut HVAC 1 02-09-2011 08:07 PM
What are the carrier furnace codes? porang HVAC 1 01-24-2011 07:45 PM
Carrier furnace problems BigK75 HVAC 1 07-30-2009 05:16 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
My Carrier furnace is driving me crazy hifiuser HVAC 6 02-10-2007 09:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.