Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2010, 09:18 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Share |
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
You want the OP to add a fuse to a 4.5KV circuit?
Nah, the current is too low.
I guess he could fuse the primary winding but sizing that fuse could be tricky without help from Carrier.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 12:07 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,810
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


All he has to do. Is use the wires made for it. And then there is no worry about fusing it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 03:52 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
All he has to do. Is use the wires made for it. And then there is no worry about fusing it.
I agree, no DIY. You are a good salesman.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 04:10 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,810
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
I agree, no DIY. You are a good salesman.
You seem to have a problem knowing what DIY is.

DIY does not require making up all your own parts.

And DIY does not have to be done half butt.

Using OEM parts, or approved third party parts. To make a proper repair Is DIY.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 04:25 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,275
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


A new HWell air cleaner costs me and Beenthere $500 and over. We sell it for a LOT more. I would use the OEM parts. Probably has a silver content in it and works better. Those wires are under tension and it is better to use OEM parts. Perhaps Yoyzie can call his friends at Carrier for some more helpful info. Pretty good with the XFRMR weren't they.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 04:31 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


What kept you, Mr. Y?

I retract post #18. The OP should try to find out what kind of wire it is and buy stiffer wire from wherever he can get it. Testing it with a magnet will tell something about its composition. Maybe it's piano wire. Or stainless.

If I knew what Carrier looked like I would make a small doll in its image and stick pins in it.
BTW, Yuri & Beenthere, would you mind posting your pictures in your posts?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-04-2010 at 04:36 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 04:32 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,275
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


Avoid washing the air cleaner cells in a dishwasher. Better to soak them in a Rubbermaid tub. Carefully wipe the wires with a Kleenex or cotton rag when dry to remove any soap residue. This extends the life of the wires and cells. Dishwasher soap is too corrosive. Will corrode the metal tabs in the cells also.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 04:42 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,810
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


I like when they hit them up with a high pressure washer. Ooooops, what wires, why are those plates all bent up.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 05:05 PM   #24
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,275
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


True story. I had a customer where the "previous" owner or so he said, hosed down the fins on his condensor with a high pressure washer. Nice "smooth" finish on the coil after that. OOPS
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 06:15 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


Well Gentlemen! The consensus seems to be. Stick with the original parts. Even though they cost an Arm & a Leg. Wash the unit with care.
I thank you all. Ken
jankencanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 07:09 PM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,810
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


Personally. I'd pull those electronic cells and pre filters. And install a 4" media filter.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 10:16 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Personally. I'd pull those electronic cells and pre filters. And install a 4" media filter.

Reading between the lines. Electrostatic filters are a waste of money,except for the Pro's that install them. God Bless us all. Every one.Ken
jankencanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 10:34 AM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,810
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


Most electric air filters are neglected by the owner. And not cleaned as often as it should be.
People in general have a hard time remembering to change their air filter regularly. Let alone spend time cleaning an electric one every 30 days.

Although the thread title, and all of us have been talking a electric air filters.

There are electrostatic ones also. And most of those shouldn't be used. Unless the duct system was designed for one.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 10:54 AM   #29
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,275
Default

Carrier electrostatic air cleaner.(furnace)


I took a seminar from a HWell guy about electronic air cleaners. Day 1 when the cells are perfectly clean they attract 95% of the dust. Day 7 about 85% and decrease steadily like a bell curve. Unless the customer is uber an*l about keeping them perfectly clean they lose efficiency quickly. The sales brochures don't tell you that. They give off ozone due to the ionization process which smells like smog to a lot of people. We stopped selling them years ago. Not worth the cost. We can do just as good a job with a high rated MERV filter which requires NO maintenance (4 or 5" pleated is the way to go). Did not have them back in the day when EAC's were the best technology. The 3 part Lennox PCO and others will take out fumes/bio-aerosols etc etc which an EAC cannot. People with breathing problems are now going with them and those Bionaire room jobs. Unfortunately they only do one room for $700-$1000 and we can do the whole house with a duct unit for not that much more.

The membrane electrostatic restrict too much air flow, plug up quickly and I won't have one in my house. Quite a pain in the arze to properly clean them.

98% of my companies installs use a filter box and 5" MERV pleated filter:http://www.lennox.com/products/indoo...-systems/HC10/
the rest are the expensive PCO system and the odd one keeps his 1" el cheapo filter.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 08-05-2010 at 11:05 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
jankencanada (08-05-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Infinity thermostats integrate with control4 2.0 Proteco HVAC 0 07-09-2010 05:33 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM
Product Advice - Trane or Carrier 99Problems HVAC 5 05-28-2009 06:23 PM
Carrier Infinity does not work with Control4 Thermostat o1o1o1o1 HVAC 1 02-27-2009 08:30 PM
Carrier rep coming to diagnose a problem Faulknertw HVAC 14 07-16-2008 11:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.