Carrier ECM Motor Number - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2009, 01:27 PM   #1
fiddler
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


I am trying to find a replacement motor for a Carrier FK4CNF003 FU. Motor ID number is 5SME39HL0140, 1/2 HP 0-1400 RPM but the FU literature shows 1/2 HP motors as being either HD44AE128, HD44AE129 or HD44AE130.

A web search found that an HD44AE132 might be a replacement too. Since ECM motors are real expensive I want to get the right part.

Can anyone cross reference this motor number?

Advertisement

pwrengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 07:37 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


How do you know the motor is faulty? What are its symptoms? Could be the circuit board attached to the motor or the board in the furnace or the wiring harness.

Advertisement

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 08:12 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Yep.

They are expensive motors to replace, if they aren't bad.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 09:23 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Sure it's the motor guys!

Engineers don't make those type of simple mistakes.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 09:40 PM   #5
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Eveing.....Lover
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 09:51 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


whatsssssuuuupppp!
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:30 AM   #7
fiddler
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Its the motor control unit. Here are the details:

The motor ALMOST works right. Takes a lot of rocking but 8 out of 10 times it eventually starts up. 2 out of 10 times it never starts and gives up, freezing the evap coils. Speed ramps back down OK when it runs. When it runs it is as smooth as ever (no shorted poles). Checked the winding resistances, they are OK. Checked voltages on the 16pin connector and the board, they are OK. Hand spinning the blower wheel can get it started every time but that is a bit inconvenient!

I pulled the module and checked the thermistor (OK) on the DC power board (on top) and even changed it. I changed the power FET's on the lower board too, but no luck. No number on the controller that identifies it but it IS an ECM2.3 motor.

I want to buy another control module but GE has been no help in identifying it (...speak to your carrier salesman...). Carrier reps won't help without a $1,000 up front check to come out and look at it.

If I could identify the 5SME39HL0140 as being replaced by a HD44AE132 I would order the module from a local supply house.

Yep they sure are pricey. Makes me want to replace it with an AO smith motor and a new control board but I wouldn't know what controller board to replace it with.
pwrengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:40 AM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


The control board is TOTALLY SPECIFIC to the main board and must match. Afraid you will have to buy it from Carrier. If it doesn't match it may damage the main board and won't give you the proper CFM etc. The whole motor with module if you can find it wholesale thru a tech/buddy should be under $400, unless Carrier has jacked up their prices more than I know.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 12:07 PM   #9
fiddler
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Thanks for the reply.

Yes I am fully on board with the motor/control module/controller board matching and be configured to the blower/cabinet/condenser setup.

What I am trying to do is find out which motor I presently have so I can get the right replacement: the Carrier literature says it is either an HD44AE128 or HD44AE129 or HD4AE130. They are all 1/2HP motors and I expect them to have different programming in them. I am not fully convinced my local carrier repairman would get it right either.

My existing motor is not labeled with any "HD" type nomenclature and Carrier won't help me ID it so I was looking for some help here.

One website claims the ..128 & ..129 get replaced by the ..132 motor, but I am skeptical and don't want to spend $600+ retail for the wrong part that is not returnable. I will buy a new motor & controller if necessary but I still need to know exactly which one.

Thanks again
pwrengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 12:22 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Sounds like the only person who could help and would have to contact Carrier would be a Carrier tech. We have one who drops in occasionally but you may have to wait a week or longer.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 12:48 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Ver 2.3

Its an older motor.

Carrier dealer can get you the right module.

Needs mod number and serial number of air handler.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 06:41 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
The control board is TOTALLY SPECIFIC to the main board and must match. Afraid you will have to buy it from Carrier. If it doesn't match it may damage the main board and won't give you the proper CFM etc. The whole motor with module if you can find it wholesale thru a tech/buddy should be under $400, unless Carrier has jacked up their prices more than I know.
Jacked up isn't the word. My guy sniffed at it and said a grand. 700 for the motor. Never again with this unit.
denhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 07:14 PM   #13
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


That's Carrier for you.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 11:26 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Well, I am not taking it face down for anyone. I have looked at the wiring, looked at the boards, and they don't seem any more intimidating then building a computer from a barebones, so I am going replace the motor, controller board, and module some way.

But my issue is mechanical. I have tried to remove the fan from the motor shaft using a puller, wd40, bolt blaster, rust remover, you name it. Using a puller is only bending the blades on the fan, and I am really afraid of mushrooming the motor shaft head. I can't get a wrench on the shaft of the motor from the other end, and yes, I took the screw out of the aluminum sleeve. A buddy is recommending torching it, and then using the puller. Any hints?
denhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 05:52 AM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Carrier ECM motor number


Did you use a hub puller.

Never had one I couldn't get oof using the Ultimate Puller.

Google it.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Infinity does not work with Control4 Thermostat o1o1o1o1 HVAC 1 02-27-2009 09:30 PM
Honeywell TrueSteam with Carrier Infinity Control Llama HVAC 1 02-19-2009 05:20 PM
Carrier rep coming to diagnose a problem Faulknertw HVAC 14 07-17-2008 12:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts