Carrier Control Board - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2011, 10:44 AM   #1
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Carrier Control Board


Cool and fan work. In heating mode no power to inducer terminal. Checked continuity of inducer to make sure it was good and it was. Board's been changed out twice in the last few months by another company but was during cooling season so they either didn't check heat or knew it wasn't working.

Fuse was blown but did not blow once replaced.

Same thing, bad board?

Advertisement

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:00 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Carrier Control Board


Yes, if they did not ground themselves when replacing, the tech could of killed it.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:05 AM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Carrier Control Board


Thanks. I'm just wondering if the current replacement without heat is the correct one and is the inducer over amping and taking out the board. But heat would've had to have worked to begin with for the inducer to take out the board so..

Board isn't cheap. Inducer assembly is even more than the board. Might just push for a new furnace.

Thanks Gregzoll.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:20 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Carrier Control Board


Depending on how bad of shape the whole unit is, and age, you can only duct tape & bailing wire something only so long, to keep them running.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:25 AM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Carrier Control Board


I wouldn't say it's in bad shape, it's just old. The home owners, through their home warranty, have a new evaporator and a new condenser. When the condenser was replaced is when it was figured that the board was bad and that was replaced. A few days later the board went bad and again was replaced and now, two months later, it's not sending power to the inducer and without the inducer, as we all know, no heat period.

Never seen a board not send power to an inducer before. Odd.

I have pics. Terrible clarity but I have a few.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:27 AM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Carrier Control Board


Bad wire connection. Wiring does corrode over time.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:30 AM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Carrier Control Board


One small black wire on the far left neutral and the one small black wire on the "INDucer" terminal, those being the inducer wires. Nothing (voltage) at terminals while on call for heat by way of stat and by way of jumping at board. I wonder if I could use the "HUMidifier" terminal? Anyone?

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:34 AM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Carrier Control Board


Problem is doc, is there voltage there when there is a call for heat, or all the time? I personally would check with the manufacturer directions, or wait for someone else to chime in. If you are not getting voltage to that point on the board, I would look for burnt lines on the back of the board, or burnt electronic parts along the path to that terminal.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:48 AM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Carrier Control Board


No power at any time. I just got off the phone with Carrier Technical Support. They said the same thing, bad board.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:50 AM   #10
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Carrier Control Board


No power to inducer at any time, while on call for heat or not, rather than no power anywhere I should say.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 03:39 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,521
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

Carrier Control Board


Make sure the board has a proper low voltage ground.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (11-01-2011)
Old 11-01-2011, 06:46 PM   #12
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Carrier Control Board


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Make sure the board has a proper low voltage ground.

You think a lack of 24 volt ground can take it out?
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 06:49 PM   #13
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Carrier Control Board


I can't exactly recall but it looks as if it has one. Can't say how well it's connected either. Thanks BT, I'll check it out.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 10:39 PM   #14
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,367
Rewards Points: 1,098
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Carrier Control Board


that doesnt look like an oem carrier control board. But I can't see it that well, could just be my eyes paying tricks on me.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:48 PM   #15
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Carrier Control Board


I don't think it's an oem either. Carrier themsleves does not carry a general replacement.

The board has been changed out twice already. This board was laying near the furnace.

Advertisement

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier furnace control board - OEM or ICM ? anku HVAC 13 10-12-2012 11:50 PM
Draft Inducer control board replacement daney21 HVAC 9 01-17-2012 02:21 AM
WOW, this control board is cooked! bigscooter HVAC 26 12-07-2011 12:46 PM
How to protect AC control board from blowing during thunderstorm/lightning ? anku HVAC 23 07-09-2009 10:20 AM
Blower control board mlmaher HVAC 1 11-24-2007 02:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts