Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2013, 10:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


I have installed a Carrier fv4c air handler and 24abc636a003 condenser and am trying to wire them up to a honeywell thermostat. Does this wiring look correct?
Attached Thumbnails
Carrier Air Handler Wiring-image.jpg  

Patrick3152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:35 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


And this
Attached Thumbnails
Carrier Air Handler Wiring-image.jpg  

Patrick3152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick3152 View Post
And this
Looks good to me
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:46 AM   #4
Willing to listen
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West of St. Louis MO in the country
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


I'm not super familiar with the Carrier Air Handler, but am wondering why you aren't wired to the Y1 terminal on it's control board?

(although it should not matter since you have the Y1 to the OD unit on the same terminal as the Y1 from the Tstat)

Last edited by Done That; 03-08-2013 at 10:48 AM. Reason: error/clarification
Done That is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:48 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by JScotty View Post
Looks good to me
Actually after giving it a 2nd look the yellow wire from the stat & the red wire to the cond unit look like they should be moved one space up to Y1 in the furnace. Can't really see what the terminal they're in is labeled, but they should be in Y1, although often you'll see those wires not even connected at the terminal block, but just wire nutted together. So not sure if it will actually matter.
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 11:22 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


I turned on the breaker at the main panel. I turned on the disconnect at the unit. There was an immediate humming sound and the fan started spinning up. After about ten seconds of trying to figure out why the fan was coming on already a huge arc happened behind the fan. I'm assuming coming from the heater strip. This happened for a split second before I hit the disconnect and it stopped. I have a pro coming out, but I'm curious as to what happened!

I'm not an ac guy, but I did build my entire house, wired it up, etc, so I'm not totally clueless.
Patrick3152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 11:49 AM   #7
Willing to listen
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West of St. Louis MO in the country
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


This is all new equipment or has it been run before?

Was the thermostat installed?
Done That is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 12:00 PM   #8
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 491
Rewards Points: 306
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by JScotty View Post
Actually after giving it a 2nd look the yellow wire from the stat & the red wire to the cond unit look like they should be moved one space up to Y1 in the furnace. Can't really see what the terminal they're in is labeled, but they should be in Y1, although often you'll see those wires not even connected at the terminal block, but just wire nutted together. So not sure if it will actually matter.
No, its a variable speed airhandler and it is wired to the Y/Y2 terminal which is correct.

I would lean toward the thermostat isn't set up for AC/electric heat
Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Technow For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (03-08-2013)
Old 03-08-2013, 12:01 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


This equipment was installed and removed before it was ever run. A friend sold it to me (he is a pro).
Patrick3152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:33 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier Air Handler Wiring


I removed the electric heater strip and found a piece of foil tape on the heater coils. Also I was missing a jumper from r to dh in the air handler which put the unit into dehumidify mode and turned on the heater. When I powered it up the heater kicked on and it did not like that tape!

Patrick3152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I really need the air handler filter? Flt_Simulation HVAC 2 09-17-2012 11:38 AM
Wiring float switch to air handler Terrw58 HVAC 1 05-13-2012 09:13 PM
Return Vents and Air Handler Question hifiman HVAC 7 04-27-2012 07:44 AM
T-Stat Wiring - Lux TX9100e replaces Honeywell T8411R for Carrier Heat Pump/Cooling 99Problems HVAC 1 08-19-2010 02:44 PM
SPace Pak Air Handler Wiring Question--208-230/60/1 metal121 HVAC 5 05-07-2009 06:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.