Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-17-2012, 08:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 32
Share |
Default

carrier air handler power requirements


Im having a new system installed and to save some cash i have removed the old furnace and heat pump and im going to be doing the wiring from the breaker box to the new unit. The installer has given me power wiring documentation, however im not certain how to interpret what he wants. Can anyone tell me in "laymans terms" what size breakers and what gauge wires i should run? Here is the system being installed:

1-Carrier model FB4CNF036, “Comfort” air handler.
1-Carrier 15 KW electric heater package.
1-Carrier model FILCCAR20 media air cleaner.
1-Carrier model TP-PHP” thermostat and control wiring.
1- Carrier model 25HBC336A003, 3ton, up to 13 SEER, “Comfort” heat pump unit 1-New copper refrigerant tubing package to run from the new air handler to the new heat pump unit. This will also include a TXV refrigerant flow meter.
1-New 220 volt rain tight disconnect for the new heat pump.

This is the wiring document he provided me with:


Cysnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:21 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

carrier air handler power requirements


Ask the electricians. What you're going to need to know is the wire size and two 120 volt circuits. One will be a 60 amp for the main and one a 20 or 30amp for the heater kit. I think those are the average amps. You connect the main 60 amp 120 volt circuit to the main breaker of the air handler (inside the air hanlder) to run the blower and the other smaller amp circuit to the elctric heaters. Yes, there will be two sets of breakers in the air handler. Many times though we simply use the main 120 volts hooked to the main breaker and simply jump to the electric heat kit from it, one leg to one leg respectively.

You may already have done more damage than good, though. You will be spending three times as much on resistive heat (electric) versus a gas furnace.

For savings we try and sway people to get gas or a heat pump and lose electric.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:28 AM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

carrier air handler power requirements


There's a member of this forum, an hvac contractor, known as beenthere. DoOd is smarts times 10 and he lives up in Pa if I'm not mistaken. Hopefully he'll chime in and give you his thoughts.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:46 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 32
Default

carrier air handler power requirements


UNfortunatly i dont have gas where im at. Oil was costing me over 2k every year, and to top it off my oil furnace was over 50 years old, so even with electric i should be saving a great deal of cash. we are installing a heat pump as well
Cysnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:49 AM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

carrier air handler power requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cysnake View Post
UNfortunatly i dont have gas where im at. Oil was costing me over 2k every year, and to top it off my oil furnace was over 50 years old, so even with electric i should be saving a great deal of cash. we are installing a heat pump as well

Ah, so it's a heat pump with electric heat back up...? Normal and good. Again, BT will hopefully chime in. I'm in Texas so not too familiar with what happens up north.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Cysnake (05-17-2012)
Old 05-17-2012, 02:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

carrier air handler power requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cysnake View Post

This is the wiring document he provided me with:

This ^ tells you how to do it but for me it's illegible.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent Brief Power Outages in Half the House mac70pete Electrical 11 06-02-2011 09:35 PM
Making a waterproof/weatherproof enclosures for a network camera & its power hub snowfall Building & Construction 0 05-02-2011 10:14 AM
Carrier 58sta/stx has no power Kherg62 HVAC 4 03-06-2011 10:06 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.