Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2008, 01:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


Help, Just bought the house, winter is coming and furnace stays on only 5-10 minutes and turns itself off, even when thermostat is still sending signal to run. Any suggestions????
THANKS ALL !!!

moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sringfield, Oh
Posts: 111
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by moll View Post
Help, Just bought the house, winter is coming and furnace stays on only 5-10 minutes and turns itself off, even when thermostat is still sending signal to run. Any suggestions????
THANKS ALL !!!
Here are some things to check; is your filter clean, is your blower clean, do you have some registers closed?
What shuts off, the burners, the whole furnace, blower? Need more info to be able to help.

sgthvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 05:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by sgthvac View Post
Here are some things to check; is your filter clean, is your blower clean, do you have some registers closed?
What shuts off, the burners, the whole furnace, blower? Need more info to be able to help.

Thanks for info, First shuts off burners and after like 60-90s blower as well and in few minutes same starts all over again. Filter is clean, registers are open (most of them).
moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 04:23 PM   #4
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


If you look at the circuit board in the blower section it should be flashing a code as to why your furnace is locking out.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 09:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sringfield, Oh
Posts: 111
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


moll,

HvacWiz could be right- is there some flashing lights on the circuit board? if you have a sight glass in the blower panel count the flashes - it will flash in a pattern like 3 long flashes then 4 short flashes whatever the code is, you'll have to look at your furnace panels and find the label that gives you the trouble codes, but your problem might not give you a code and depending how old your furnace is your cicuit board might not have the flashing fault code lights. One more thing, if you kill power to the furnace (120vts) you will clear out the fault code like rebooting your computer so don't take off the blower door or flip the breakeroff until you check for a flashing code.

If you don't have fault code flashing try this so we can narrow it down a little. Take off the blower panel, turn off the power (the blower door safety switch might not work), there will be a set of thermostat wires attached to the circuit board. The board will be labeled R,W,Y,G,C, but not necessarily in that order and there could be more terminal screws there. Find the terminal labeled R and remove the wire, take a jumper wire and jumper from R-W (you are by passing the thermostat and isolating the problem to your furnace). Put the blower panel back on and turn on the power. the furnace should kick on and start to operate. Let me know what you see and if the problem still repeats itself. This is just a test to see if the t-stat is bad. If the furnace stays on you have a problem with the t-stat or t-stat wire.
sgthvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 06:10 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


Hi, I am back, was out of town for awhile, now its really getting cold. The furnace does not have flashing lights on the board. T stat is ok, since after jumping its still goes off after 5-10 min. Any more thoughts?
THANKS
moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:46 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


I have this furnace. This is an old post but someone might find this helpful. This is a high efficiency direct vent furnace.
The unit has a led lamp to indicate fault codes. It can't be seen unless a peephole was drilled or you have observed it with the door off.

For a non professional, it sounds like a call for the furnace man is in order. The furnace will often trip after a few minutes of running when the flame rollout switch opens. It senses excessive heat on the air side of the heat exchanger which correlates to a cracked furnace. It can also be attributed to low air flow due to a dirty air filter or AC coil or some other obstruction.

When the switch gets hot it opens and trips the furnace and the flashing light will indicate "33" or if it's off for more than 3 minutes it will change to "13". These codes should be on the documentation pasted inside your furnace.

Check the filter. If it's dirty change it and try again. If it's missing call the furnace guy. It can also be due to a failing fan but that seems unlikely.

z
z3braman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:13 PM   #8
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by z3braman View Post
I have this furnace. This is an old post but someone might find this helpful. This is a high efficiency direct vent furnace.
The unit has a led lamp to indicate fault codes. It can't be seen unless a peephole was drilled or you have observed it with the door off.

For a non professional, it sounds like a call for the furnace man is in order. The furnace will often trip after a few minutes of running when the flame rollout switch opens. It senses excessive heat on the air side of the heat exchanger which correlates to a cracked furnace. It can also be attributed to low air flow due to a dirty air filter or AC coil or some other obstruction.

When the switch gets hot it opens and trips the furnace and the flashing light will indicate "33" or if it's off for more than 3 minutes it will change to "13". These codes should be on the documentation pasted inside your furnace.

Check the filter. If it's dirty change it and try again. If it's missing call the furnace guy. It can also be due to a failing fan but that seems unlikely.

z
Please start a new thread. We can help you!!
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:42 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


I was offering assistance to OP and not requesting assistance. I realize it is an old post and the OP is long gone but the problem he described is a classic one and the furnace is quite common, especially since that control board is used on many differnt furnaces.

z
z3braman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:11 AM   #10
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Carrier 58SXC120 Furnace


an eight year old post ?...sorry you need to start a new thread

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier furnace help code 13 mudtruck HVAC 10 11-23-2013 02:24 PM
Carrier Furnace help code 31 fauxjaux HVAC 6 04-22-2010 10:36 PM
CARRIER 58RAV Furnace Blows Cold Air-No Heat sarosie HVAC 2 12-05-2007 12:00 AM
carrier furnace issues sbroways HVAC 2 10-15-2007 08:30 PM
My Carrier furnace is driving me crazy hifiuser HVAC 6 02-10-2007 09:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.