Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2011, 09:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Unhappy

Carrier 58sta/stx has no power


For some unknown reason to me, my furnace has no power. It is a Carrier model 58sta/stx. It is controlled by a Honeywell digital thermostat, which at this point has no display functions (blank) and is why I believe there to be no power to the system.

Any suggestions?

Kherg62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 09:11 AM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Carrier 58sta/stx has no power


check your breakers and possibly there may be a switch by the furnace. There is also a low voltage fuse on the control board located in the blower compartment. Also some of these brand furnaces would shut off the outgoing power to the stat when a limit was tripped.

Also check for batteries in the stat.

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 12:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 50
Default

Carrier 58sta/stx has no power


May be a bad transformer. Are you getting 110v to the furnace? If so, are you getting 24v out the other side of the transformer?
Poppyloppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:37 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Carrier 58sta/stx has no power


:thum bup:: thumbup:

Trouble shot the power back from the 24v secondary side of the transformer. Pretty scary what I found. The wiring in at the power into the furnace had gotten so hot it burned up. The hot line in wire nut was all melted. Nothing shorted out...no breakers ever blew, I was pretty suprised at this! So all it took was cutting back the wirring and renutting the lines together. Alls good and up and running.

Thanks for everyones help!
Kherg62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 10:06 PM   #5
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Carrier 58sta/stx has no power


I do not think you found the cause of the problem. I'd add a fuse if a random short It will open the fuse and it won't damage anything.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumb electrical question about potentially overloading a power socket zapp Electrical 2 02-18-2011 09:43 AM
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 07:45 PM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 07:26 PM
Problem with Carrier Weathermaker 9200 Chipley HVAC 12 12-16-2008 12:44 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.