Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2010, 10:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


I have a Carrier 58PAV070-12 furnace with a problem. The blower comes on, but it never ignites. It is giving me error code 12 first, then 31. I did some troubleshooting myself but no luck. I tried cleaning up the pressure switch, the rubber tube going to it, I also tried taking the two wires off pressure switch and jumper them together when the inducer motor is running, still no ignition. There doesn't seem to be any air blockage on the unit. Could it be something to do with the ignition heating element? Please help, Thanks much!




peterzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:34 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


There have been several of these as of late.. Look on the back panel of the blower door & see what that code means



Carrier 58SXB furnace error code 31


Last edited by kenmac; 10-26-2010 at 11:36 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


Thanks for the reply. I already looked into other posts but my situation is different from theirs. My understanding of that code 31 has to do with the venting of the furnace or pressure switch. After google the error code and read other people posts, I did troubleshooting myself as I mentioned earlier, but didn't find anything wrong with those parts. What am I missing here? Anything else I should have checked? The pressure switch seems to be working fine, motor inducer is running, no blockage, filter is clean, any suggestions? Should I check the trap? THANKS!
peterzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:50 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


If that's a 90 % furnace . your secondary heat exchanger may have to be cleaned depending on furnace age. If you have a volt meter. You can start checking to see where you are loosing 24 volts
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 12:17 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


So the furnace is about 10 years old. I guess it's not a 90% efficient furnace. I can borrow a volt meter from work, can you please tell me where and how to check for the 24 volts loose please? This question might sound stupid, it's extremely windy here today, do you think the wind could be part of the cause? Thanks,
peterzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:55 AM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


If it's not vented with PVC plastic. Then it's not 90 %
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 08:09 AM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,780
Rewards Points: 2,698
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


PAVs and WAVs are mids. Check the red reset button on the spill switch which is located on the box where the vent pipe attaches. Switch is inside the furnace and tucked under/beside the box. Wind can sometimes cause them to trip.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 01:12 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


Thanks for above replies. I have another question I don't know if this could contribute to the malfunction of my furnace. So I replaced the mechanical thermostat to a digital thermostat this summer. I didn't test the heat after I installed it. My AC worked fine this summer. Since I'm getting an error code 31 off furnace instead of LED constantly blinking, is that reasonable to say that electronic thermostat is working fine? and my problem must have something to do with the furnace itself? Thanks,
peterzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 02:02 PM   #9
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


some t.stats have to be set up for the type of heat you have , gas, elec, hp, etc,If you set it up correctly. then the problem is most likely at the furnace
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 11:20 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


So I saw an online video talking about measuring the resistance of hot surface ignitor to determine if it is bad or not. I took a multimeter to measure the resistance of pressure switch and hot surface ignitor as shown on the pictures. The pressure switch shows OL and hot surface ignitor shows 66.4 Ohm, am I doing the correct steps here? Is 66.4 Ohm indicating good working condition? Can I apply the same method to measure pressure switch? I'm getting OL on the pressure switch, I want to ask you guys if the pressure switch is broken?
What puzzled me was I bypassed the pressure switch yesterday but my furnace still didn't get turned on, the hot surface ignitor is cold throughout the entire troubleshoot. Thanks much, guys! Waiting online... Please help!
Attached Thumbnails
Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31-pressure-sensor.jpg   Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31-hot-surface-ignitor.jpg  
peterzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 11:41 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


I just saw a post saying that a good hot surface ignitor will have a resistance of 40 to 90 ohms. I guess the problem is not hot surface ignitor then since the reading I have off the ignitor is within the range. I went ahead and measured the voltage coming from the controller where the cable disconnected from the hot surface ignitor. The voltage reading is 4.298V. Is the controller / board bad?
Attached Thumbnails
Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31-connector.jpg   Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31-furnace.jpg  

Last edited by peterzhang; 10-27-2010 at 11:43 PM.
peterzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 12:15 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


any comments? I used the multimeter to measure some connectors on the board, such as 2 circuit IDM connector and 3 circuit PCB connector. I thought I should have a reading of 110V according to the diagram on the cover but I only got 1.68V. I don't know what I'm doing here apparently. I somehow have a feeling that the board could be bad... Please help!
peterzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 05:21 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


Pressure switch is checked while the hose is connected to it, and the inducer is running.

Could have a high limit that is tripped due to a dirty coil or air filter.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:00 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


Good point, so far I haven't checked the high limit yet. Could I do same step to check the high limit just like how I checked the inginitor? The board seems working to you guys? Thanks,
peterzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 11:06 AM   #15
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Carrier 58PAV070-12 with error code 31


Check all your limits.. usually, when a limit is open it will bring on the blower motor & it will stay on. Are you getting 24 v on the white wire at the board on call for heat ?


Last edited by kenmac; 10-28-2010 at 11:09 AM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Edge Thermostat Installation Issue ptalar HVAC 1 07-13-2010 06:40 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 10:09 PM
Carrier Infinity does not work with Control4 Thermostat o1o1o1o1 HVAC 1 02-27-2009 09:30 PM
Honeywell TrueSteam with Carrier Infinity Control Llama HVAC 1 02-19-2009 05:20 PM
Carrier rep coming to diagnose a problem Faulknertw HVAC 14 07-17-2008 12:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.