Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2008, 05:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
c5pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58MXA pressure problem


I graduated oil burner tech school MANY years ago and am technically minded. I don't have too much experience with gas but did do a little tech work a few years ago.

I own a 10 year old Carrier 58MXA 90% furnace. I replaced the control center exactly 2 years ago (bad circuit unless I applied pressure on the board)... I was a computer tech too . This year I'm getting an intermittent 3-1 error. I blew out the trap and flushed it with water, cleaned all the vents with a paper clip, and checked all the tubes and hoses. The pressure switch would only pull out about half way and since I get parts for cost I replaced that just to be sure. It worked for 2 weeks straight.

Now it's acting up again. I've noticed I can get the igniter to energize if I disconnect the pressure tube from the gas valve and combustion air. It will run through a full cycle and intermittently fails again.

What am I missing? Where else can I get a clog that prevents the pressure switch from making? Thanks, Joe.

c5pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 06:14 PM   #2
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Carrier 58MXA pressure problem


Just guessing on this one, but your secondary heat exchanger could be plugged up.

HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 09:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
c5pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58MXA pressure problem


Are there any instructions available that explain the correct way to check it out? Does it get blocked with condensation buildup or debris carried from outside? Thanks for the quick response.

Anyone else have any clues?
c5pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 08:32 PM   #4
Newbie
 
c5pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Carrier 58MXA pressure problem


OK, I think I have this figured out. I went to get a couple of fernco couplings so I could disconnect the inlet pipe from the combustion area. Turned out the pipe didn't go in as far as I thought and was able to slide it far enough without cutting.

I found a leaf against the screen.

So far, everything is working smoothly. Now I have a spare pressure switch if my neighbors ever need one. All the outlets, tubing, and trap have been serviced, and I gained more knowledge solving something myself.
c5pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier 58MXA Code 31 Problem MikeZ HVAC 8 01-12-2010 07:32 AM
Carrier 58MXA pressure/vacuum problem gshock HVAC 8 01-17-2008 07:13 PM
Carrier code 31 on 58MXA (WeatherMaker 9000?) SteveAnnArbor HVAC 7 11-05-2007 07:53 PM
water pressure problem rgmetro Plumbing 6 04-09-2007 04:57 PM
Shower Pressure Problem rob1970 Plumbing 18 03-10-2007 11:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.