Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 08:20 AM   #16
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,333
Share |
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


AC size/capacity is primarily determined by the cond coil size as it is fixed and never changes. Evap is important but we have seen 2 ton coils used for 1.5 ton systems etc so it can vary. In theory the comp has to pump a certain amount of vapor/heat into the cond and comps are rated for that/sized for that vapor. so a comp is a comp in BTUs/vapor capacity irregardless of body shape/style BUT the suction and discharge fittings will most likely be different sized/diameter so it won't work properly in a resi system. a mini split has different sized lines AND they and the 2 coils are exactly matched by the designer with NO variances allowed. the comp and coils and lines and lengths are all a designed pkg unlike your resi system which can mix and match lines and coils. if the suction line is too small on the mini comp then you won't get proper oil return etc. I would not try it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 04-26-2013 at 08:22 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:31 AM   #17
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri
AC size/capacity is primarily determined by the cond coil size as it is fixed and never changes. Evap is important but we have seen 2 ton coils used for 1.5 ton systems etc so it can vary. In theory the comp has to pump a certain amount of vapor/heat into the cond and comps are rated for that/sized for that vapor. so a comp is a comp in BTUs/vapor capacity irregardless of body shape/style BUT the suction and discharge fittings will most likely be different sized/diameter so it won't work properly in a resi system. a mini split has different sized lines AND they and the 2 coils are exactly matched by the designer with NO variances allowed. the comp and coils and lines and lengths are all a designed pkg unlike your resi system which can mix and match lines and coils. if the suction line is too small on the mini comp then you won't get proper oil return etc. I would not try it.
Yes it's pretty common in the south (especially Southeast like Florida to oversize the evap because it will have more surface area to condense water vapor on, thus dehumidifying. I'm not sure if you do that up in Canada though
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 02:01 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
I was thinking more along the lines of it may work, installing a mini split compressor into a regular residential condenser, as I would have to think 1.5 tons means 1.5 tons.
but this is new to me so I'm simply guessing here on a great topic, one I've never encountered before. are the compressors the same?
Thanks, my ideas are sometimes met with resistance from the status quo but I'm pretty good at pushing the envelope and bringing up topics that bring out new knowledge. I parted the compressor from the mini split and installed it. It is working and cooling. I'll give another update later once I've allowed more time for evaluating.
wonderworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:25 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,496
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC1000 View Post
Yes it's pretty common in the south (especially Southeast like Florida to oversize the evap because it will have more surface area to condense water vapor on, thus dehumidifying. I'm not sure if you do that up in Canada though

Funny thing is. A smaller evap coil will remove more moisture then a larger one will. The larger coil is warmer.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:39 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,333
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Aw common now do we REALLY want to start getting into thermodynamics? will have to call up our old friend Clover to have a lively debate about compression ratio and COP and SEER.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:46 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,496
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


LOL.

That big 50°F coil, can't pull the RH lower then 49% if your maintaining 70°F in the home.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:44 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,333
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


we never use larger coils here BUT there are some pkgs where to get the utility rebate and perfect 16 SEER or whatever then they have to go with the larger physical size of coil in that tonnage. Lennox has A/B/C coils small/med/large and the larger ones are harder to fit in but need to be used for the rebates/AHRI approval. maybe it is an urban myth that a larger coils dehums better. had a great time with studying psychrometrics and all that baloney in school only to have a design engineer spec the job and pick everything anyway. once I retire I am going to really get into that design theory stuff when I have the time to do it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:17 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,496
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


It was somewhat nice when I was a manager and got to do design and builds.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:33 PM   #24
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,333
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


yeah it is real interesting. I have a steam ticket and we had to study turbines and engines and I was rebuildin cars when I was 6 and handin the ole man wrenches. that's how you learn how stuff works.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:40 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,496
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
yeah it is real interesting. I have a steam ticket and we had to study turbines and engines and I was rebuildin cars when I was 6 and handin the ole man wrenches. that's how you learn how stuff works.

I use to go to the garage where my dad worked when he worked late on Tuesday nights and help him when I was a young kid.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:15 PM   #26
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,333
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Yep. I used to rebuild carbeurators, change clutches and pressure plates with him and laid on my back on a frozen floor. gets cold where I am. had a big wood box stove and country music blaring, Good Times.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:24 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,005
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Yep. I used to rebuild carbeurators, change clutches and pressure plates with him and laid on my back on a frozen floor. gets cold where I am. had a big wood box stove and country music blaring, Good Times.
country music blaring...is there any other kind ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 04:56 PM   #28
HVAC Tech
 
Jim-Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 7
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Most ductless condensers use Line Voltage and not 24 volt control voltage to cycle the outdoor unit. In which case the answer would be NO.


Have a nice day,

Jim Martin

Last edited by beenthere; 05-02-2013 at 07:07 PM. Reason: Removed link to company website in post
Jim-Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim-Martin For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (05-02-2013)
Old 05-02-2013, 10:21 PM   #29
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim-Martin View Post
Most ductless condensers use Line Voltage and not 24 volt control voltage to cycle the outdoor unit. In which case the answer would be NO.


Have a nice day,

Jim Martin
okay, get a transformer so the answer is now yes. but the real and still standing question is "will a 1.5 ton mini split compressor do the exact same job as a 1.5 ton , oh, let's say Copeland Scroll 1.5 ton compressor?"
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 04:40 AM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,496
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


For all practical purposes, yes it can do the same amount of cooling work.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roman Facut - Replace Delta w/American Standard mormegil Plumbing 1 11-29-2010 07:37 PM
Replace Condenser Fan Motor cnavazio HVAC 14 06-24-2009 09:57 PM
Heat pump condenser fan missing: how do I know what to replace it with? Ptron HVAC 9 11-29-2008 12:46 PM
Condenser Fan Quits After approx 10 min kdogg HVAC 5 08-06-2008 06:03 PM
Need to replace can light with standard light Woodcutter Electrical 3 02-29-2008 07:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.