Can You Use A 1.5 Ductless Condenser To Replace A 1.5 Ton Standard Condenser - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 07:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Anyone know if you can use the condenser from the below mini split ductless system and hook it up to a standard split system thermostat and air handler?
http://air-conditioners.comparical.c...tioner-MTU4OTM

http://www.ajmadison.com/cgi-bin/ajmadison/KFR18GW.html

Both are 220v.

Advertisement

wonderworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 09:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


A ductless is most of the time controlled via 120 Volt signals from the inside unit.

Advertisement

Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 09:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Most mini splits also meter at the outdoor unit and are designed to work wit a specific indoor coil and fan.
Ebierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:53 PM   #4
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


no the communication systems are not compatible. why cant you buy a standard split condenser?
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:28 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


These are the possibilities I am thinking of.

1. Remove any smart wiring and take it down to just a fan, compressor, and contactor and then connect it to the air handler just like a standard 1.5 ton split condenser.

or

2. Just part out the compressor from it and use it to replace a failed compressor on the existing 1.5 ton condenser.
wonderworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Just buy the right compessor
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 08:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderworm View Post
These are the possibilities I am thinking of.

1. Remove any smart wiring and take it down to just a fan, compressor, and contactor and then connect it to the air handler just like a standard 1.5 ton split condenser.

or

2. Just part out the compressor from it and use it to replace a failed compressor on the existing 1.5 ton condenser.
It won't work. Compressors are sized by e amount of refrigerant they pump. Mini splits work with very small charges relative to conventional systems so the compressors can't pump the refer needed for a conventional split system.
Ebierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:16 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebierley View Post
It won't work. Compressors are sized by e amount of refrigerant they pump. Mini splits work with very small charges relative to conventional systems so the compressors can't pump the refer needed for a conventional split system.
I was thinking more along the lines of it may work, installing a mini split compressor into a regular residential condenser, as I would have to think 1.5 tons means 1.5 tons.

but this is new to me so I'm simply guessing here on a great topic, one I've never encountered before. are the compressors the same?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 12:11 AM   #9
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


ya and a AAA battery is a AAA battery, but that doesnt mean cutting a AA battery in half and pairing it with a full AA is the same thing as a AAA.
Why can't you buy the right compressor?
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 12:52 AM   #10
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


well, that's the question at hand. Is a 1.5 ton mini split compressor able to handle the same btu's as a 1.5 ton residential compressor? This is a question I've never thought of before but am wanting to know. is it the same Copeland scroll? is 1.5 tons the same from one to the other? Anyone?

good topic.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 01:26 AM   #11
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


well most minisplts have a rotary vain compressor not a scroll. as for working, i think if you somehow got it all wired right and brazed together it would work and circulate the refrigerant but i dont think it would work at the same capacity and remove as much heat. the mini split compressor is designed to be 1.5 ton, but that is when it is used with the equipment it is installed on. using with other equipment would not work at the same tonnage
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 01:38 AM   #12
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


that's what I don't get. why is a 1.5 ton mini split compressor not compatible to a 1.5 ton residential/copeland scroll 1.5 ton compressor? why is 1.5 tons not the same as 1.5 tons?

explain.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 01:45 AM   #13
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


you're not comparing apples to apples when talking about rotary vain/piston to scroll. regardless how they run, they achieve the same tonnage so why is a mini split's compressor not allowed to be the same as a "normal' residential's compressor?

I can put a rotolock (ingersoll rand/trane) in place of a scroll and vice versa from one to the other but what is the difference from mini split compressor to roto lock or scroll as we know it? only deficiency I see is the coil it serves.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 01:48 AM   #14
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


1.5 ton rotoloc is the exact same as a 1.5 ton scroll. it pumps the exact same amount of refrigerant so what I'm left thinking is the coil of the 1.5 mini split condenser not equaling the coil (size) of a 1.5 ton regular condenser although even then I doubt it would be of any significance.

this is an experiment in the making.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 01:53 AM   #15
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Can you use a 1.5 ductless condenser to replace a 1.5 ton standard condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebierley View Post
It won't work. Compressors are sized by e amount of refrigerant they pump. Mini splits work with very small charges relative to conventional systems so the compressors can't pump the refer needed for a conventional split system.
who says? do you have any data you can post to back this up? he did say the mini split compressor ran off of 220 volts, same as a regular condenser/compressor? I'd be willing to bet they can more than adequately pump the refrigerant as it's not the amount they can pump, but the condenser coil size and how much it can condense.

Please post data. I'm ignorant to this cause, just debating but beware, we may get shut down for doing so.

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roman Facut - Replace Delta w/American Standard mormegil Plumbing 1 11-29-2010 08:37 PM
Replace Condenser Fan Motor cnavazio HVAC 14 06-24-2009 10:57 PM
Heat pump condenser fan missing: how do I know what to replace it with? Ptron HVAC 9 11-29-2008 01:46 PM
Condenser Fan Quits After approx 10 min kdogg HVAC 5 08-06-2008 07:03 PM
Need to replace can light with standard light Woodcutter Electrical 3 02-29-2008 08:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts