Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2010, 07:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 34
Share |
Default

Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?


Can you replace a 1 +pole contactor(some people call them a double pole w/single throw or Single pole with Shunt) with a true 2 pole contactor?

Why do the manufacturers still use a 1+pole?


Last edited by ashton; 05-11-2010 at 07:42 AM.
ashton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 04:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?


Here is a picture of the 1+ pole contactor. Why couldn't you use a 2 pole?
Attached Thumbnails
Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?-5-10-2010-002.jpg  

ashton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 04:58 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?


On 1,000,000 units built. Saving 50 cents per contactor adds up.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?


I take it that means you can replace them with a 2 pole? I ordered the same 1+ contactor but would have preferred a 2 pole because if something goes wrong I dont have to worry about frying compressor or fan.
ashton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:17 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?


You can. But. Some contactors are wired up to control the on off of crank case heaters. So you have to watch that you don't wire them up wrong.

Actually. More of a chance of something going wrong with a 2 pole contactor. Then a single pole contactor.But you can use a 2 pole in place of a single pole.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 09:04 PM   #6
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?


It was told to me some years ago that the manufactures are using the capaciter as a off cycle crankcase heater of some sort hence the single pole contactor. I would replace with whatever is there originally.

If I remember right it was Comfortmaker tech service that told me this.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 09:24 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,406
Default

Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?


I thought I heard that too. Guess we'll have to put an amprobe on the next one we run into.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:03 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?


Some are doing that, others aren't.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

Can you replace a 1+pole contactor with a true 2 pole?


I've seen Carrier use single pole contactors to energize the crank case heater this way.





240 volts is present across the open contacts of a single pole contactor...

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole vs. Double Pole Thermostat dforeid Electrical 14 08-26-2012 08:12 AM
240V 2 pole 1/2 inch GE breakers? Isaac-1 Electrical 12 02-09-2010 11:21 AM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.