Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2012, 04:31 PM   #31
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,527
Share |
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
beenthere, we can both use your help one thread below!!
Slash has his wiring screwed up. He cheaped out and used 2 wire. That thread is confusing on what is really wire where.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:34 PM   #32
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Slash has his wiring screwed up. He cheaped out and used 2 wire. That thread is confusing on what is really wire where.
Phew! I knew I wasn't crazy.

Thanks.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:35 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Break down and get a Honeywell IAQ thermostat, and optional outdoor sensor.
umm...and why is that? I go from a semi-basic Honeywell to top-of-the-line super expensive one with an outdoor sensor?
I don't have a dehimidifier, humidifier, uv bulbs, no phone line near (nor phone service) to use the phone feature.. I'm sorry but this recommendation just does not make sense to me.
chicy724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:40 PM   #34
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,527
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Quote:
Originally Posted by chicy724 View Post
umm...and why is that? I go from a semi-basic Honeywell to top-of-the-line super expensive one with an outdoor sensor?
I don't have a dehimidifier, humidifier, uv bulbs, no phone line near (nor phone service) to use the phone feature.. I'm sorry but this recommendation just does not make sense to me.
Actually, the IAQ is the second or third tier. The Prestige Hi Definition would be the top of the line.

The IAQ can control the heat pump better then the ones your looking at. Including locking out the aux heat until it gets cold enough outside to need it. Plus it will let you select balance point plus 2 drop, if you want to set the aux lock out real low.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:47 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Thanks, beenthere. If it will control it better, it makes sense. But it doesn't get extremely cold here, remember? Our first winter it got into the 20s a few times, otherwise it's 40s, 50s, etc. Do I really need to worry about this emergency heat thing, keeping my location in mind? Panhandle of FL- so it can get a little more chilly than other parts of FL but it's still not that cold very frequently.

I just wanted to upgrade slightly to a thermostat with programming, indoor temp plus set temp and a backlight. I can look into this IAQ one in a few years when I can, and want to spend that kind of $$ on the tstat plus the installation costs.. I just cannot afford that right now to be honest.

So with that said, going back to basics- do you think that the 7500, 7600 or maybe even 8500 will meet our needs and budget without causing damage to our system or cause it to run a lot more during the day? I am very worried about what I read about these newer tstats causing damage. And I am reading misinformation, great. If not, I guess I'll just have to wait until we can afford the IAQ type system and installation and I'll have to carry a flashlight or my cell phone when I change the temp before bed. =

Last edited by chicy724; 07-03-2012 at 04:57 PM.
chicy724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:52 PM   #36
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,527
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


The 8500 is fine g=for your system. new stats are harming the units. Mis-wiring the new stat can, and does.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:57 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The 8500 is fine g=for your system. new stats are harming the units. Mis-wiring the new stat can, and does.
Did you mean to say new stats are not harming units, but mis-wiring is?
Not to be a pain, but you recommend the 8500 vs. the 7500 or 7600 for any specific reason? The VisionPros seem like overkill- but if there's a good reason as to why it's better for my system then it's worth it. But....................
Would the 7500 or 7600 also work just fine? The 8500 I can afford right now is used. Otherwise there are a couple of 8000s out there I can afford, but they require pro-installation for whatever reason- which makes them unaffordable.
Thanks.... sorry!

Last edited by chicy724; 07-03-2012 at 05:07 PM.
chicy724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:15 PM   #38
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,527
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Didn't read the instructions for the 75 o 7600, thats the only reason. As long as it says compatible for heat pumps with aux heat. You can use it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
chicy724 (07-03-2012)
Old 07-03-2012, 05:50 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Indeed they do work with heat pumps.. Aux is mentioned in both manuals so it looks like they have that also. I think we're going to aim for the 7500. It has all of the features I want and is very affordable. Hubby and I talked about it and we can't justify the extra cost for the touch-screen ones since we're not even sure we like the touch screens- for now. In the future when we can/want to upgrade to the Pro 8000 series types with the outdoor sensor, or even a higher model- we'll do so. But for now, we don't see the need for SUCH an upgrade.

I'm sure I'll be back for help on wiring it up in the future! I'll be sure to take a picture of our existing tstat and wiring before taking anything apart. I learned this from reading these boards. Very informative! Thanks so much!

Last edited by chicy724; 07-03-2012 at 07:07 PM.
chicy724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 09:04 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 163
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Quote:
Originally Posted by chicy724 View Post
umm...and why is that? I go from a semi-basic Honeywell to top-of-the-line super expensive one with an outdoor sensor?
I don't have a dehimidifier, humidifier, uv bulbs, no phone line near (nor phone service) to use the phone feature.. I'm sorry but this recommendation just does not make sense to me.

LOL

I got the Honeywell IAQ and love it every bit. It keeps my home very nice and comfortable at 74-75 F and with 45% humidity control out in south florida. I think today it was almost 95F outside. You would be surprise with the price. The other day I bought a Honeywell IAQ for $105 off ebay. Brand new in the box. I bought it just in case I can make use for any future customers or friends as I am going to be in the HVAC industry in the future. Let us know when you need help with the wiring and we'll help you out. Good luck!
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:10 AM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Alrighty! New Honeywell 7500 is here. Here are photos of my existing thermostat hooked up. Hoping you can help me hook up the new one using the right connections.. because my husband and I are clueless and I am confused just looking at the thing! On the left side it looks like nothing is hooked up to "W" (but may just be tough to see). On the right side, nothing looks connected to "L", "W2" or "B". If I should post more, or better pictures please let me know and I'll be glad to do so! Thanks!!

chicy724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:25 AM   #42
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


old = new
R=R AND RC
G=G
Y=Y
O=O/B
E=AUX AND E
C=C

The thermostat MUST be setup for HP w/ aux heat. Read and use your installation manual to do this.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS

Last edited by hvactech126; 07-07-2012 at 11:29 AM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
chicy724 (07-07-2012)
Old 07-07-2012, 11:52 AM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Thanks! Forgive me for being clueless.. but the way you have it written out "R=RC", what does the "=" represent? Is that "equals" or is that representing separation between the two sides of connections?
...and I don't see anything that says "RC". So the above, R=R AND RC confuses me.
And O=O/B.. I don't see anything connected to the "B" on the right side.
And my "G" has a blue wire to it. I assume they just used blue instead of green, so I do NOT connect the blue wire to "B" which one (I) would think corresponds to a blue wire.
chicy724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 01:11 PM   #44
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


old terminal designations = "equals" new terminal designations

On the new thermostat you should have terminals marked R and one marked RC
O from the old stat goes to O/B on the new thermostat.
G from the old stat goes to G on the new stat. COLORS DONT MATTER

Don't overthink it! Just do exactly as I posted in the my last post.

Oh, and reading the manual would probably help you immensely!
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 06:24 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 163
Default

Can you help me find a replacement thermostat? Having trouble!


Easy as hvactech126 has said. Make sure u turn off ur breaker at the air handler also so u don't be accident burn out the low voltage system. It's really simple.. It should take u like 20-30 mins max to finish. And if all hell is let loose....dont worry we'll help u out! lolll


Last edited by kilosos2; 07-07-2012 at 06:26 PM.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kilosos2 For This Useful Post:
chicy724 (07-07-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat Problem loftezy HVAC 4 03-21-2012 05:43 PM
Repair 1962 Rheem pink toilet tank or find vintage replacement ? khaef Plumbing 0 09-09-2011 09:55 AM
replacing thermostat Pbutts29 HVAC 6 01-04-2011 03:28 PM
Thermostat replacement goalie35 HVAC 2 11-13-2010 02:10 PM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-09-2010 11:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.