Can You Bypass Thermostat? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2012, 10:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


A few months ago the electric went out for 3 days. I have a gas hot water baseboard heat. The thermostat runs by electric Thus we had no heat. Is there a way to fool the heater into coming on?

Advertisement

drozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 10:15 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


No, gas valve and sensors on the unit are fed by electricity so it wouldn't light.

Advertisement

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:49 AM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


if you had a steam boiler with a pilot generator...yes http://www.bestbuyheatingandaircondi..._Code=PIL9A41L
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:58 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,415
Rewards Points: 828
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


An electric recirc pump?
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 12:14 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,555
Rewards Points: 4,748
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


Back up generator.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 03:22 AM   #6
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,554
Rewards Points: 624
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


A hot water tank connected to baseboards can gravity and convection feed the baseboards in a power outage with the zone valve manually opened and with the right plumbing set up.

Older gravity feed boilers also don't require anything beyond their own millivolt production to work and are never connected to the electric grid.

Likewise with Biggles steam boiler.

But nothing that uses 120V for pumps or 24 volts for the gas valve & controls will work with a thermostat bypass.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 06:58 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


You need to fool more than the thermostat to get heat.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 07:53 AM   #8
Happy to help
 
Lighting Retro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Back up generator.
this is the best choice, but obviously not always an option.
Lighting Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:24 AM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


get 10A/115V off a car battery with the car running... if the outside temps are below 32F http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...2345_200422345
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 10:09 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 279
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
get 10A/115V off a car battery with the car running... if the outside temps are below 32F http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...2345_200422345
Checking out the above site, and others, they show operation by plugging 'appliance' into the inverter.

One site's FAQ suggested running an extension cord from the garage to the (home) appliance. I suspect, not a good idea.

But, how about going one step further? Since (my) extra car sits in the garage, why not FIRST throw the main disconnect, then with a short heavy duty extension cord (2 plugs), plug into a nearby outlet.

Wouldn't that make the full output of the inverter 'available' to that leg of the system; enough to power a refrigerator, freezer, and a VS furnace? Could the combined LRA of the refrigerator and freezer be a problem?

Also, the pictures appear to indicate that the inverters have one socket. Any of the units (say, up to 5000W) have multiple sockets? That way, one could divide the load between the 2 power legs if needed.

How 'clean' is the AC voltage, anyway?
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 10:19 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,555
Rewards Points: 4,748
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


Running off of a car battery, the car's alternator won't produce enough wattage to run more then one medium sized appliance. So you are limited to less then 1,000 watts, for any length of time over a 15 minutes. A 1000 watt inverter may not be able to start a furnace blower.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 02:32 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 279
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


On the site (previously linked), a video showed a 5000W unit.

Just a thought anyway. Car never gets used. With a full tank, I'd be good for quite a while.
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 03:04 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,555
Rewards Points: 4,748
Default

Can you bypass thermostat?


The car alternator wouldn't keep after. Your battery would be drained fairly quickly.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 09:43 AM
Thermostat for electric baseboard wiring help needed vae_victis HVAC 10 01-05-2012 11:53 AM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 05:32 PM
Thermostat issues rathipon HVAC 4 01-29-2011 12:46 PM
manual bypass for furnace thermostat. foxsam HVAC 8 11-07-2008 01:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts