Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2008, 12:14 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Share |
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
The north side will be the most accurate temp reading, most if not all sensors will recommend this location.
OK? still don't understand why.
My northside would be my neighbors southside. Not sure why the temperature would be any different right across the road...if he decided to install one on his southside, I would think it would read the same as one installed on my Northside....oh well.
Key1

__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 12:24 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


The sun, doesn't shine on the North side in most of North America.

So your North side would be shaded, but his South side would have sun light shining on it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 12:46 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The sun, doesn't shine on the North side in most of North America.

So your North side would be shaded, but his South side would have sun light shining on it.
Now that I get. I had thought it was something beyond the elements since I had mentioned putting it in a location protected from the elements.

Now that I think about it, I guess the sun would still be heating the air around that shaded location.....Northside it is.

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 07:04 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


All done!!

The "Outside Temp" sensor was successfully installed.

Thanks for your assistance

One small detail I did not forsee.

When the outdoor temperature is displayed, it appears in the window where the indoor humidity was displayed. Now I no longer have humidity displayed........ But given the choice I prefer the outside temp displayed since I have a seperate near by hygrometer which displays the humidity.

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 08:08 PM   #20
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Just for giggles, where did the sensor instructions want the sensor located?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 09:55 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Just for giggles, where did the sensor instructions want the sensor located?
I'm looking at the instructions now.
"Honeywell C7089 Outdoor Sensor".

No mention about installing on North Side.

Exact instructions are in blue font below

"Location and Mounting


Mount the sensor wire where:
  • it cannot be tampered with
  • there is good air circulation
  • it can measure true outdoor ambient temp
  • surface is flat
  • wire distance between sensor and tstat is less than 200 ft.
Do not mount the sensor
  • in direct sunlight
  • where hot or cold air blow on the sensor, near discharge from an outdoor compressor, or outdoor vent
  • where snow, ice, or debris can cover it. "
There was also a figure showing it mounted under a roof eave.

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....

Last edited by key1cc; 12-21-2008 at 09:17 AM.
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 10:00 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
You da man! Latley, I've been running 10 conductor to t-stats, if its in the budget anyway, gives lots of options in the future, outdoor sensors, indoor sensors, humidistat, and dehumidistat control.....
Also,
the sensor instructions as well as the tstat instructions both indicated that a "seperate" cable should be used to wire the sensor. It should not be wired using the same cable as the other wires connected to the tstat.

If those instructions are followed, the 10 conductor cable could not be used to install the sensor.

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 10:50 PM   #23
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by key1cc View Post
Also,
the sensor instructions as well as the tstat instructions both indicated that a "seperate" cable should be used to wire the sensor. It should not be wired using the same cable as the other wires connected to the tstat.

If those instructions are followed, the 10 conductor cable could not be used to install the sensor.

Key1
Yeah, I've read that also, but its usually too late.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 10:33 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Well, having the hard head that I do, I decided to take the easy route and install my temp sensor in back of the house using the hole already made for the AC lineset. This happens to be the south side of the house and all was fine on the cloudy day that I installed it.

Well we got some sunshine the other day and eventhough my sensor is under a roof eave protected from direct sunlight, the temperature was registering 35F even though it was 19F outside.

Apparently, the nearby air that is located in the sun is heated enough to influence the air by the sensor which is not directly in the sun, giving the false reading. I thought after reading the directions to position it out of direct sunlight I would be ok.....

I really don't want to locate it on the north side because that is the front of the house and there really is not a good location that would not stand out.... oh well.....

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 11:13 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 149
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by key1cc View Post

One small detail I did not forsee.

When the outdoor temperature is displayed, it appears in the window where the indoor humidity was displayed. Now I no longer have humidity displayed........ But given the choice I prefer the outside temp displayed since I have a seperate near by hygrometer which displays the humidity.

Key1
All you have to do is hit the more key 2 times and bam theres your humidity.
integlikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 10:20 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by integlikewhoa View Post
All you have to do is hit the more key 2 times and bam theres your humidity.
8 months later and I'm still learning about my Tstat

Thanks for sharing that useful bit of knowledge.

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 01:00 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 149
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by key1cc View Post
8 months later and I'm still learning about my Tstat

Thanks for sharing that useful bit of knowledge.

Key1
No problem. And I got another you probley didnt know.
On the top right coner press three times and hold it down.

A tooth pick, 2 blades, both a phillips and flat screwdriver and scissors pops out the side.
integlikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 09:04 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by integlikewhoa View Post
No problem. And I got another you probley didnt know.
On the top right coner press three times and hold it down.
Here is a pic of my Tstat.

The top right hand corner just takes the temp up....

Please elaborate..

Key1
Attached Thumbnails
Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat-tstat-xmas.jpg  
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 11:48 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 149
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by integlikewhoa View Post
On the top right coner press three times and hold it down.
A tooth pick, 2 blades, both a phillips and flat screwdriver and scissors pops out the side.
Sorry that was suposed to be a joke, did you really want a toothpick?
integlikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 12:00 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Can an outdoor temp indicator be added to my Tstat


Quote:
Originally Posted by integlikewhoa View Post
Sorry that was suposed to be a joke, did you really want a toothpick?
oh..
now I get it...you are implying that a "hack" had inadvertantly left those items inside the tstat during installation. Quite humerous.

Anyway, I do know some other tstat tricks, like making the redlight come on when ever there is a call for 1st stage heat (or 2nd stage heat, or cooling)...no joke.....it's a very nice Tstat.

Key1

__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TSTAT changeout help walker45 HVAC 9 12-08-2008 10:25 AM
I want to learn about tstat wires... thealexdexter HVAC 1 12-06-2008 11:23 PM
Insulation Added in small attic & stuff organized jamiedolan Project Showcase 3 10-17-2008 10:31 AM
Tstat bad or what walker45 HVAC 1 03-10-2008 09:54 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.