Can I Vent Furnace Through Window? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2010, 07:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


My furnace would shut down after 5-10 seconds and ignite again after 10-20 seconds and than shut down again,so I thought my chimney might be blocked . To check if that is the case I disconnected exhaust pipe from chimney liner and let is went in the basement for a few minutes . It was working fine so now since I have no money to get somebody to clear the chimney or change liner I would like to know if it would be mistake to just buy pipe and went furnace out of the house at the basement level instead through the chimney .It is keeprite forced air furnace but I don't know how old as it was in the house when I bought it 4 years ago .

Advertisement

praprade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 07:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


yikes

Advertisement

Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:16 PM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


Clean your chimney.... alive is better than dead.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:35 PM   #4
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


Quote:
Originally Posted by praprade View Post
My furnace would shut down after 5-10 seconds and ignite again after 10-20 seconds and than shut down again,so I thought my chimney might be blocked . To check if that is the case I disconnected exhaust pipe from chimney liner and let is went in the basement for a few minutes . It was working fine so now since I have no money to get somebody to clear the chimney or change liner I would like to know if it would be mistake to just buy pipe and went furnace out of the house at the basement level instead through the chimney .It is keeprite forced air furnace but I don't know how old as it was in the house when I bought it 4 years ago .

Is you hot water heater connected to the same liner or chimney? (gas fired) If so it will also be a major problem as to flue gas going into the house....


You need to get the liner or chimney checked ASAP.....


And NO you can't vent it out the window

Last edited by newtech; 09-19-2010 at 08:46 PM.
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 09:00 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


Probably a birds nest in the liner. With a fiends help and a little brain storming
you can figure it out.

Before you do anything check your flue pipe from the furnace to the liner. Might have a bird or small animal in it.

Also the blockage, if in the liner, could be with in reach.

shin a light up into a line and check with a mirror. You might be able to reach it.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 09:06 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


Quote:
Originally Posted by newtech View Post
Is you hot water heater connected to the same liner or chimney? (gas fired) If so it will also be a major problem as to flue gas going into the house....


You need to get the liner or chimney checked ASAP.....


And NO you can't vent it out the window
No ,gas heater exhaust on it's own through the wall .
English is not my language so maybe I wrote something wrong in my post .
If I now get it right ..the question is ... can I exhaust flue gas through the wall out of the house horizontal or for some reason has to go vertical through the chimney on the top of the house .
To make it more clear ...I helped my brother take his chimney down when he was selling his house as home inspector said it was in bad shape...meaning he didn't need chimney for his furnace because flue gas was exhausting at the side of the house at basement level.
So can you do that for any gas furnace or for some reason mine being I am guessing older type has to exhaust through the chimney at the top of the house ?

Last edited by praprade; 09-19-2010 at 09:12 PM.
praprade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 09:53 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,099
Rewards Points: 836
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


You cannot exhaust it into anything but a proper chimney. A high efficiency furnace with plastic vent pipes coming out of it can go thru the wall of a house. Any furnace with a metal vent needs a proper chimney. The problem may not be the chimney. Your furnace exhaust fan may be slowing down or the pressure switch faulty. Need a skilled tech with a manometer to find that out. Removing the pipe decreases the load on it and may fool it into working. Check the chimney for blockage. Remove the vent pipe at the top of the furnace and look inside for a dead bird.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:51 PM   #8
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


Does it have an inducer motor? I suppose you *could*, but as far as code goes probably not allowed. Either way you are pulling air out of the house without replacing it. I like high efficiency furnaces for the fact they have an intake, so no need to worry about creating a vacuum. Now if they only made hot water tanks with an intake as well.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 11:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 637
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Now if they only made hot water tanks with an intake as well.
They do. I can't remember what brand, but I have installed one that used aluminum flex intake and exhaust, exactly like a fireplace.
hvac benny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 03:41 AM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
yvacuum. Now if they only made hot water tanks with an intake as well.
thy are called direct fire WHs



Who love's 'ya RED?????
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 09-21-2010 at 03:45 AM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 04:01 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,492
Rewards Points: 4,630
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Does it have an inducer motor? I suppose you *could*, but as far as code goes probably not allowed. Either way you are pulling air out of the house without replacing it. I like high efficiency furnaces for the fact they have an intake, so no need to worry about creating a vacuum. Now if they only made hot water tanks with an intake as well.
The inducer of an 80% furnace is not a blower. So it requires a power venter to be added to vent it through the wall. The furnaces flue, is a negative pressure flue.

90% furnaces, the inducer is also a blower, and the flue pipe is a positive pressure flue.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 04:02 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,492
Rewards Points: 4,630
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


To the OP:

Nope. Can't vent it out the window like you want.
You can probably get your chimney cleaned for less then what a power venter will cost.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:26 AM   #13
Member
 
steveel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 287
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


If you can't clear the blockage TODAY I would at LEAST buy a couple carbon monoxide detectors and the batteries to run them. I agree with other poster that alive is much better than dead. You are talking about a "jury-rig", to use the slang phrase. Even if you get the pipe out the window, you may create condensation problems or worse yet potentially fatal backdrafting into the house. Stick a bright light into the bottom of your chimney, and a mirror. What do you see?
steveel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 07:46 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


If you open the basement window and reconnect the furnace to the old chimney, does the furnace work okay?

The furnace needs makeup air aka combustion air, cubic foot for cubic foot matching the exhaust air out the chimney. If you improved the doors and windows and insulation in your house, the furnace may no longer be getting enough through the usual cracks and imperfections in the exterior door frames and window frames.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-22-2010 at 07:49 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 08:27 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I vent furnace through window?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
If you open the basement window and reconnect the furnace to the old chimney, does the furnace work okay?

The furnace needs makeup air aka combustion air, cubic foot for cubic foot matching the exhaust air out the chimney. If you improved the doors and windows and insulation in your house, the furnace may no longer be getting enough through the usual cracks and imperfections in the exterior door frames and window frames.
No ,I had window open, didn't work.
Anyways I removed front panel and found sticker on inside wall with "Horizontal went installation instruction" . Would that be instruction for flue went (meaning I can get it out of the window) or there is something else on furnace that this applies to ?

Advertisement

praprade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minimum distance from furnace vent to bathroom fan vent? pttcc HVAC 1 08-25-2010 09:54 PM
Attic Ventilation Question handy man88 Roofing/Siding 10 02-12-2010 11:50 PM
Installing vent in glass block window jasoncw Building & Construction 6 09-27-2009 11:57 AM
Furnace Vent abfhand HVAC 7 01-14-2008 05:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts