Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2012, 03:53 PM   #16
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,292
Share |
Default

Can I use steel pipe for the oil line to the furnace?


how about some pics, my crystal ball went AWOL.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 05:27 PM   #17
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,682
Default

Can I use steel pipe for the oil line to the furnace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tractorfarmer View Post
Let's see. The fuel line goes out of the top of the tank and then goes up, so even if I did something stupid and caused a break in the fuel line, since the fuel is being pulled into the furnace, it would cause too much air to get into the line and make the furnace not work. Right? I don't think the line getting cut would cause the oil to start flowing out onto the floor.
Ayuh,... That's right,...
It'd loose it's prime, 'n the oil would flow from the break, to the burner on 1 side, 'n back to the tank on the other...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 01:20 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Can I use steel pipe for the oil line to the furnace?


I was hoping nobody would ask for pics. I hate cameras. But wait...a chance to go back to my cave. Brb.
tractorfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:56 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Can I use steel pipe for the oil line to the furnace?


Here's a pic. I just made the metal holder for the filter. I won't tell you how it was being held up. But still, if someone hits the filter or the line hard enough, it might crimp the line. I just saw tigerloop makes a unit with a filter built into it, and I wish I knew. The company that put the tank in said they prefered to put the filter as close to the tank as possible to keep the line clean. If I moved the filter to where the furnace is and just had the fuel line out the top of the tank to the ceiling, it would not be a problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Can I use steel pipe for the oil line to the furnace?-dscf2696.jpg  

tractorfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Gas Line Extension - Can I use Flexible Pipe? MikeinBurien Plumbing 35 10-15-2012 11:58 AM
slope for furnace intake pipe? ridgeway HVAC 2 12-23-2011 06:40 AM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
DIY Comedy--PVC for main water line? Daulton Plumbing 8 03-23-2011 09:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.