Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2006, 06:47 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 174
Share |
Default

Can I use duct tape?


Okay, I am supposing this is a silly question but I am going to ask anyway. If I am taping ducts do I use duct tape (as in Red Green, grey tape)? Somewhere in my head is the nagging thought that I am not supposed to but I don't know why. Also I have a whole Costco sized pack of duct tape so I would like to use it if I can.

Part B of this is that I live in a 76 yr old house (bought in May '06) with a new furnace, but older duct work. When they installed my cable they came through the floor vent and a bunch of duct work fell. So I need to hook it up again as winter is closing in on us. Because that one duct fell so easily (held with what seems to be now brittle masking tape and some fine wire which is also brittle attached to the joist). I wonder if I shouldn't just retape and rewire the rest while I am at it. If I do, can I pull the pieces down and clean them or is that asking for trouble when it comes to putting them back together?

Part C is where ever there is cable for TV, the wire is coming up through the warm air vent opening. This means all the covers won't go back on flat at all. What are my options? I have thought of drilling holes right through the floors closer to the TVs (unfinished basement, hardwood floors) or can I drill through the metal floor venting and string the cable through it and the cover?

Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 08:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Can I use duct tape?


I know this one... the answer is NO... you need to use those shinely alluminium tape... they are 10 times more sticky then duct tape and they are for ducts because I think they are metal in nature and can stand heat,smoke,oil...abuse ... where duct tape will peel off easily...

I agree... why they name it duct tape then?

for cable fishing... the best is drill through between wall and fish in after opening up on the dry wall.. as you have unfinished basement... that shouldn't be too hard... unless you are talking about second floor.


Last edited by KUIPORNG; 09-27-2006 at 08:47 AM.
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 08:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
Default

Can I use duct tape?


im messing around in my 80+ year old house that i replaced the furnace last year, but still has the old ducts. right now im fixing a lot of air leaks, un needed vents, replacing rusty ducts.... while im at it, i have pulled th emain duct down in the area im working in and took it outside, weashed it with a strong degreaser. th estuff that is in those ducts is just amazing.
jamesdart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Condensation in Wall: Can I Seal a Dryer Duct With Caulk? xquercus HVAC 5 07-01-2007 02:33 PM
Wall Rot: Water, Mold and Ants xquercus General DIY Discussions 6 06-19-2007 09:55 PM
Tape for duct work? Willie5566 HVAC 4 01-16-2007 04:02 PM
1000-1400cfm...duct sizing Swordfish215 HVAC 1 01-15-2007 03:22 PM
Drywall Mudding - Tape Lifting Drywall_Dummy Building & Construction 5 09-06-2005 11:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.