Can I Replace The Condenser Unit With A Different Brand? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2010, 10:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I replace the condenser unit with a different brand?


I have a bryant 2.5 ton unit with matching air handler / furnace that blows into slab vents.

The condenser has failed per the AC repairman.

My question is, can I swapout the Bryant condenser unit (the entire outdoor box; fan, coils, etc), with another brand (York/Trane/etc) of the same specification (2.5 ton / R-22), while still using the existing funace/air handler built by Bryant.

Sorry, I am a newbie at this, and dont know all the science. I am just in a bind, and really cant afford a brand new system.

Regards,
Jim
jimbovia@gmail.com

Advertisement

jimbovia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 10:35 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,113
Rewards Points: 864
Default

Can I replace the condenser unit with a different brand?


You can but it also depends on how old the system is. The older systems don't work too well with the newer higher SEER condensors. R22 units are in very short supply and are not longer sold in Canada and are being phased out by the R410.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 12:14 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I replace the condenser unit with a different brand?


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
You can but it also depends on how old the system is. The older systems don't work too well with the newer higher SEER condensors. R22 units are in very short supply and are not longer sold in Canada and are being phased out by the R410.
Hold on a minute there.

Depending where this is makes a huge difference. In Florida, if you play mix and match, you have to have an engineer certify the efficiency rating is equal to or greater than a manufacturers designated parts would be.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 12:19 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,113
Rewards Points: 864
Default

Can I replace the condenser unit with a different brand?


I NEVER recommend mix and match. Unfortunately people can order units over the net and "plug and play" themselves. Verboten where I am.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 12:23 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I replace the condenser unit with a different brand?


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
I NEVER recommend mix and match. Unfortunately people can order units over the net and "plug and play" themselves. Verboten where I am.
You do sound like you do know your stuff yuri (regardless of all the flack I have given you in the past). While your answer is obviously correct, I just wanted the OP (and anybody else that reads this) that while mix and match can be done and successfully if you know what you are doing, it is actually almost impossible to do it legally in some areas.

In situations such as in Florida, it would be cheaper and obviously easier to just replace everything as a matched system. By the time you get somebody to certify they thing (if it actually is certifiable) you would be better off just replacing all of the parts involved.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 12:44 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,113
Rewards Points: 864
Default

Can I replace the condenser unit with a different brand?


I just wish that all the States and Provinces in Canada could get their "act together" and follow the same basic set of rules for gas codes/equipment install and servicing and use of refrigerants/freon. Very few techs and DIYers have any idea how complex it is to mix and match units and get efficiency out of them. Add to it some undersized ductwork and you have a heck of a mess. I deal with those everyday.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 12:56 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,533
Rewards Points: 4,704
Default

Can I replace the condenser unit with a different brand?


You will probably be much better off seeing if you can get a Bryant/Carrier outdoor unit that will match to your current indoor unit.

Also, good chance that you can get a third party AHRI rated indoor coil that will be a match to the outdoor unit you get.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 11:11 AM
Replacing a condensing unit with a higher SEER rating unit tylanz HVAC 3 06-28-2010 05:44 PM
Help with outside condenser unit cablemn HVAC 5 06-14-2010 04:26 AM
Replace Condenser Fan Motor cnavazio HVAC 14 06-24-2009 10:57 PM
Furnace blew up, need to replace heat and air with single unit. d_Random HVAC 2 02-06-2007 05:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts