Can I Replace The Condenser Unit With A Different Brand? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-03-2010, 10:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Can I replace the condenser unit with a different brand?

I have a bryant 2.5 ton unit with matching air handler / furnace that blows into slab vents.

The condenser has failed per the AC repairman.

My question is, can I swapout the Bryant condenser unit (the entire outdoor box; fan, coils, etc), with another brand (York/Trane/etc) of the same specification (2.5 ton / R-22), while still using the existing funace/air handler built by Bryant.

Sorry, I am a newbie at this, and dont know all the science. I am just in a bind, and really cant afford a brand new system.

Regards,
Jim
jimbovia@gmail.com

Advertisement

jimbovia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 10:35 AM   #2
Hvac Pro

Rewards Points: 864

You can but it also depends on how old the system is. The older systems don't work too well with the newer higher SEER condensors. R22 units are in very short supply and are not longer sold in Canada and are being phased out by the R410.

Advertisement

Old 07-03-2010, 12:14 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
You can but it also depends on how old the system is. The older systems don't work too well with the newer higher SEER condensors. R22 units are in very short supply and are not longer sold in Canada and are being phased out by the R410.
Hold on a minute there.

Depending where this is makes a huge difference. In Florida, if you play mix and match, you have to have an engineer certify the efficiency rating is equal to or greater than a manufacturers designated parts would be.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 12:19 PM   #4
Hvac Pro