Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-24-2010, 04:50 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Can I do this control work myself?

I am an electrician but I have not done much control work. I am in charge of either fixing or finding someone to fix the controls on the boiler for our condo. Some pics are attached below.

The controls no longer work, you can't change the settings and the timer doesn't work correctly. This system uses the outside temperature to control the heat.

Basically, we want a new control system that works correctly and will allow us to ramp down the heat at night. I called in the maker of the system we currently have (Heat Timer) to see if they could get it working or replace it, but the estimate for a new system was over $4K, that seems like too much for our small boiler system.

So my question is this: Is this something that an electrician who is willing to learn can do with minimal trouble? Or should I just call in a pro? If the answer is the latter, who should I call? Most electrical contractors don't specialize in this.

Thanks for the advice.
Attached Thumbnails
Can I do this control work myself?-img_0454.jpg   Can I do this control work myself?-img_0456.jpg   Can I do this control work myself?-img_0459.jpg  

Lockeset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:55 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?

Rewards Points: 2,000

where you are located is extremely important and any licensing your state requires for either electrician, low voltage electrician, or havc tech is critical.

as an electrician myself, it it not beyond me but I have no idea how you and I would compare on knowledge, technical skills, and logic.

and you are correct; an electrical contractor would not be who to call. You would call a company that deals with hydronic heating systems; aka HVAC contractor with knowledge of boiler systems.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote