Can I Add Baseboards And Add Zone Like This? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 10:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75
Default

can I add baseboards and add zone like this?


Our existing CI baseboard one zone water heating system is not enough now. Because we are starting finish the basement and planning to replace the family room’s electric heating with water heating. The boiler is 2yrs old Burnham alp105 gas boiler and supposes it is big enough for the coming new baseboards.

We are planning to do the following:
  • Split two bedrooms out from the existing zone, add the family room, which is using electric heating now, into the existing zone;
  • Add one zone for those two bedrooms and another downstairs bedroom;
I have two diagrams to show you what we have now and what the new design is. Please review it and let me know if my plan is reasonable.
Attached Thumbnails
can I add baseboards and add zone like this?-existingheating.jpg   can I add baseboards and add zone like this?-heating2zones.jpg  

Advertisement

diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 06:37 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

can I add baseboards and add zone like this?


Family room and basement bedroom should each also be on their own zone.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
diy001 (02-04-2012)
Old 02-04-2012, 11:43 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75
Default

can I add baseboards and add zone like this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Family room and basement bedroom should each also be on their own zone.
We are thinking make living room and family room a zone, and attach the basement bedroom to the upstair bedrooms and add a ball valve to the basement bedroom to shut it off when necessary.
diy001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 12:10 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

can I add baseboards and add zone like this?


I would make the family its own zone, since it won't lose heat at the same rate as the living room. The basement bedroom will need heat when the first floor bedrooms don't.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts