Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2012, 07:14 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Came home to cold house


Left last night everything was fine...came home this morning and house was cold...checked thermostat and realized filter may be clogged...I'm terrible at maintaining this.... Sure enough ...took out filter but didnt have a replacement....now furnace is kicking on and off every few minutes.. Does it NEED a filter to work properly or is it something else...

Gas furnace, Ruud, about six years old.
Thank you.

dublya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 07:59 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Came home to cold house


it does not require a filter to work..... but you should definately have one in when its runing.....

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 10:53 AM   #3
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,500
Rewards Points: 516
Default

Came home to cold house


Does it have a flashing led diagnostic code?
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:17 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,323
Rewards Points: 2,308
Default

Came home to cold house


First thing I would ask is, do you have power going to the house, do you have gas, propane or oil to fire the heat, or is it electric heat.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:57 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 277
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Came home to cold house


Your description of it's kicking on and off doesn't give much to go on. Do you mean the burner(s) are going on and off or do you mean the fan is going on and off? You also didn't mention if while it's going on and off, does the house come up to temperature.
old_squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:15 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Came home to cold house


well both fan and burner would kick on and off...it would only run for a couple minutes....but its working now....I left it off all night so about 8 hours....tried it in the morning and now its working.... thanks

dublya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing home made whole house fan blower rebar HVAC 5 06-23-2009 06:39 AM
Came home to a hot house! Condensor fan not coming on... austinringding HVAC 12 10-19-2008 08:07 AM
new ( to me ) house... cold inside, warm outside... what's the deal? MrLinux General DIY Discussions 7 02-13-2008 08:33 PM
Pay GC to construct home and finish it myself? L O N G . . . Badfish740 Off Topic 9 07-27-2007 08:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.