Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2011, 12:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

C-Wire on New T-Stat installation


Hello,

I am new to the forum and glad to be here. I have spent some time browsing and have not found exactly the answer I am looking for.

I just bought a thermostat that is wi-fi enabled and requires power from the C wire. When I detached my old thermostat, the W, Y, G, and R wires were connected. There were also two orange, a blue, and a black wire bundled, but not connected to anything.

If it helps, it is the 3M Filtrete wi-fi/touchscreen t-stat and I have a York air handler.

I looked at the wire panel in my air handler and the same wires (2 O, Blue, and black) were present, but not connected. On the panel, there is a white wire connected to the C terminal, but does not run to the thermostat, it goes somewhere else, not sure where.

My question is this: can I use one of the disconnected wires (orange, blue, or black) as my C wire? This would entail having TWO wires connected to the C terminal at my air handler. IS THIS POSSIBLE OR WOULD THIS NOT WORK?

I just want to make sure this will work before I try it out. Thanks in advance for your help!

sb144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 12:25 AM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

C-Wire on New T-Stat installation


Use blue wire to connect on C at air handler and thermostat.

I installed 3M-50 today.....very nice btw


When you have everything setup check this website ==>http://www.thermostatmonitor.com/

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.

Last edited by JJboy; 07-10-2011 at 12:34 AM.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 12:39 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

C-Wire on New T-Stat installation


Thanks for the quick reply! So it would be okay to attach the blue wire to the C terminal at the air handler even though there is another wire there already?

Glad to hear it's a nice unit!
sb144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 12:47 AM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

C-Wire on New T-Stat installation


Yes, Shut off air handler connect all the wires. To test do not install the batteries. Turn on air handler, the thermostat should be energize. Turn off again and install the batteries. You are ready to setup the wi-fi.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 12:08 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

C-Wire on New T-Stat installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy
Yes, Shut off air handler connect all the wires. To test do not install the batteries. Turn on air handler, the thermostat should be energize. Turn off again and install the batteries. You are ready to setup the wi-fi.
Awesome thanks a lot!
sb144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 09:36 AM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 07:41 PM
Dimmer switch with Hot & Neutral wire ? Knucklez Electrical 3 12-28-2010 05:24 PM
6/3 wire through smurf tube? anygren Electrical 13 08-14-2010 08:23 AM
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 11:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.