Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-26-2012, 04:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Share |
Default

A/C in window well


want to put a 5k ac in a basement room that has a window well about 3 feet deep. Will that work out OK

plschwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 04:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Default

A/C in window well


there may be some problems. first the compressor will run hotter due to the condenser (outside) coil being partially blocked by the window well. second you may create a water problem in your basement from the condensate. These size units are fairly cheap you may have to just try it to find out. You may be able to contact a manufacture of a window unit and ask them.

turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a Replacement Vinyl window with brick mold jlatulippe Carpentry 4 06-23-2011 02:05 PM
Defog window recap greenmax General DIY Discussions 4 05-07-2010 05:00 PM
help need to know how to replace windows wrapped in drywall caide3 Carpentry 4 03-02-2010 12:41 PM
Problem with window and everything around it malfunction Building & Construction 3 05-26-2009 05:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.