Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2010, 06:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Share |
Question

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


Hello,
I have a Carrier comfort series a/c unit, model 24ACA324. It's 3 years old and has been working well until a day ago.
When the thermostat sends the signal to turn the a/c unit on it does so as it should but it runs for 15 seconds and then turns off. It does this until I manually turn the unit off. The unit has been cleaned but still the same problem.

Any help or insight into this problem would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Rusbla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 06:55 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


Sounds like a pressure switch is shutting it off. I didn't think that model had them from factor y though.

look in it, and see if it has small devices with 2 wires on them in the lines in the condenser.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Rusbla (09-13-2010)
Old 09-13-2010, 07:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


First of all Thanks alot for the quick response beenthere.

Yeah, I just checked and there are two devices in the unit. One has 2 yellow wires with orange stripes and the other has 2 blue wires with white stripes. If possible could you tell me which one it is. And are they difficult to change?
Rusbla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:23 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


When the A/C comes on, does the fan spin? if it does, then its probably teh low pressure switch. And that is the one on the large line.

But. that doesn't mean the switch is bad. means your system is probably low on charge. or your air filter is real dirty.

need gauges and EPA cert to check the charge.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Rusbla (09-13-2010)
Old 09-13-2010, 07:28 PM   #5
Seasoned DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 187
Default

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


You can connect a volt meter across the switch with the system running. You should read 24 or 0, depending on if its normally closed/normally open, but it should not change at all. If it does, its tripping.

Then, its time for service call, to have a tech who really knows how to interpret pressures and see if its a bad switch tripping falsely or a legit trip. If it's a legit trip, the relationship between high and low side often tells metering device obstruction. Unusually high head can mean non condensible matter in the loop. This only happens if you had a bad leak in the past that caused air to be drawn into the system, or a tech screwed up. You'll need to have it evacuated, recharged with virgin refrigerant.
HVAC_NW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HVAC_NW For This Useful Post:
Rusbla (09-13-2010)
Old 09-13-2010, 07:32 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


Yeah the fan spins when its running. I actually cleaned the condenser coil a day ago and replaced the air filter a week ago.

The unit is only 3 years old so is it common to be low on charge?
Rusbla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:33 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


Does virgin R22 bust it's cherry if a tech screws up the job
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:38 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


Thanks HVAC NW, I appreciate the response and insight. If only I knew more about electricity.
Rusbla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:38 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusbla View Post
Yeah the fan spins when its running. I actually cleaned the condenser coil a day ago and replaced the air filter a week ago.

The unit is only 3 years old so is it common to be low on charge?
Well. 3 years ago. Lots of manufacturers were having evap coil problems. As in they leaked.

So yes, its common to have a leak in a 3 year old unit, today.

Not saying that is the problem, but it could be.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Rusbla (09-13-2010)
Old 09-13-2010, 07:55 PM   #10
Seasoned DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 187
Default

A/C Unit turns on for 15 seconds then turns off. Repeatedly!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusbla View Post
Yeah the fan spins when its running. I actually cleaned the condenser coil a day ago and replaced the air filter a week ago.

The unit is only 3 years old so is it common to be low on charge?
Most residential units are hermetic system, so there are only two ways refrigerant can leak:

1.) tech error (highly likely..)
2.) defective parts

Do what you can using soap spray to look for leak at inside and outside coils. If the leak is at the coils themselves, get them replaced under warranty.

Check all access ports and valves as well.

Leak from anything other than factory assembled parts is defective install and chances are it was leaking from day one, but you didn't discover the symptoms until refrigerant got low enough to affect functionality. Grill the installing dealer. Tell them you expect the leak fixed. Don't let them get away with topping off. If you have to pay service call, don't pay for the same company that screwed up in the first place. Call someone else.

If you find a leak at braze made by an installer, then its definitely a defective install.


Last edited by HVAC_NW; 09-13-2010 at 07:58 PM.
HVAC_NW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
Deck Landing and A/C Unit Master Brian HVAC 10 07-22-2010 07:08 PM
Central air (outside unit) makes strange noise when it turns off. Am I in trouble? Player HVAC 6 07-12-2010 07:49 PM
Carrier 48GS unit turns on, but no heat coldlady HVAC 0 10-30-2009 08:30 PM
AC condensing unit failure? Hotinsummer HVAC 3 08-09-2009 02:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.