Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 07:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 77
Default

a/c unit not working


House fan would come on but no cold air. Checked contactor and pushed on button and fan came on with cold air inside house. Replaced contactor no cold air again. A/C unit fan outside would not stay running unless contactor button was held. Replaced batteries on thermostat still not working. Rudd a/c unit. Thanks for any help.

gt1935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

a/c unit not working


could be many things. one thing on that unit that comes to mind look for a red reset button. it will be near where the refrigerant pipes go into the outside unit.

turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c unit not working


Sounds like you have no 24 volts to the contactor. Check for broken wire from heater board to outdoor unit.
Jbreeves3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

a/c unit not working


besides that if you have a meter you need to check for 24 volts on the coil side of the contactor (should be on left and right sides of the contactor in most cases).
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:36 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

a/c unit not working


not getting 24Vs to that contactor coil either new or old.it had been working good then crapped out at least you have supply fan so you have 24Vs control...remove the stat off the subbase...SHUT THE DISONNECT OFF out by the condenser! then go in and at the subbase jump R to Y and at the condenser check the contactor should be pulled in....lets hear back..reason i want the condenser powered down you have no supply fan with the stat in hand just do that jump and check outside...OK
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my AC really working correctly? dayzies05 HVAC 7 05-22-2012 10:08 AM
Bryant AC unit not working emcinnis HVAC 8 08-18-2011 10:12 PM
Evaporator unit is out under the house randyloy HVAC 1 08-29-2010 05:33 PM
Heil 5000 HE unit not working oldtom HVAC 2 09-27-2009 07:27 PM
AC condensing unit failure? Hotinsummer HVAC 3 08-09-2009 02:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.