Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2007, 02:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Share |
Default

A.C. Unit how big?


I guess I need to know how big of a unit to purchase for my bedroom, I am looking at a Sharp Window Unit, room is roughly 30x30x8.

econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 04:45 PM   #2
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Default

A.C. Unit how big?


18,000 btu

bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 04:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default

A.C. Unit how big?


I think that might be a little small. I would look more towards a 24000 btu unit. Generally you want one ton per 400 to 500 sq. ft. And it also depends on solar load, If that part of your house is in direct sun light all day I would go with the bigger unit, but if it's not go smaller.
sckeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 07:32 PM   #4
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Default

A.C. Unit how big?


In this area it tends to be 600sqft per ton 400-500 cfm per ton. There are thousands of 1800sqft ranches with 3 tons that cool just fine. If you over size you will cool but never dehumidify (kind of like living in a meat locker). Two tons or 24,000 btu will do 1200sqft with average insulation. As we all know if you really want to be accurate and not use rule of thumb, do a heat gain calculation and get it size right but then again we were talking window units.
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 07:47 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default

A.C. Unit how big?


I agree my house is in Los Angeles I have a 3.5 ton unit and my house is 1300 sq ft.
I have full sun all day long, my house is 2 yrs. old. It works perfectly, it doesn't short cycle or run continuously. I also have a very dark roof almost black. So the rule of thumb I guess is different for your area.
sckeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps wishiknewmore HVAC 39 06-28-2012 08:51 PM
can I swap a (3) 60watt unit into a spot where I have a (1) 60watt unit? joeyboy Electrical 11 07-29-2007 07:25 PM
Question on 240v to ac(window unit) evosounds Electrical 2 07-20-2007 11:45 PM
Used Central Air Unit? shep28 HVAC 2 04-21-2007 07:59 PM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.