A/C Unit And Handler Run Fine, Just No Cold Air. - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2011, 12:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A/C unit and handler run fine, just no cold air.


Hi,
A/C unit and handler run fine, just no cold air. No funny noises or anything. Had a recharge and a capacitor replaced approx 2 years ago. Not sure which cap it was, or what they look like in my unit. Would also like to know what the rusty container that looks like a thick metal booze flask is. It has 6 wires coming out the top...2 dark yellow, 3 orangish, and 1 brown. Thanks.

Advertisement

Craig A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 12:42 PM   #2
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

A/C unit and handler run fine, just no cold air.


A picture of the "thick metal booze flask" would help to identify what you are describing, but it sounds like a capacitor.

You say the AC runs fine, are you sure the compressor in the condensing unit (outside unit) is running?

Advertisement

__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 01:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A/C unit and handler run fine, just no cold air.


Thanks for replying. I think it is the cap since the 6 wires going into it look like the wires that go into other round caps that they show online. I am going to have it tested @ Grainger right now since I have to drop off my pool pump motor at a place right down the street from them.
Craig A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 05:55 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

A/C unit and handler run fine, just no cold air.


If you needed refrigerant 2 years ago and nobody fixed the leak then it's probably low again.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Full drip pan caused AC unit to cut off; now compressor/air handler will not work bizzow HVAC 1 08-14-2011 05:52 PM
Air Handler Works/Outside Unit Does Not g8tkeeper HVAC 7 08-03-2011 10:41 AM
Drain line plugged on air handler unit - need advice spta97 HVAC 19 07-26-2011 08:50 PM
New Condensing Unit to Match Existing Air Handler? sweaty HVAC 5 03-04-2009 01:37 PM
Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air beakon20 HVAC 4 08-13-2008 10:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts