Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2007, 01:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

A/C Unit for basement


In our basement, we are going to remodel it to be the master bedroom. It does not have heating or cooling as of yet. I have a piece of rental property that I am in the process of selling and the buyer is going to demolish it and has no need for anything in the building. I installed a new 3 ton A/C unit last August in the building that I am thinking about taking and using for the basement in our house. The basement is roughly 600-700 square feet. I know a 3 ton unit is an overkill for the basement, but could it be used or would that cause problems? Thanks.

mickmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 12:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Default

A/C Unit for basement


I'm sure some of the pros will correct me if I'm wrong. The problem with going with a unit that large is "short cycling". While the basement will cool, it will feel "clammy" because the unit will not run long enough to get the moisture out of the air.

You may be able to get around this by adding a dehumidifier.

__________________
It takes less time to do a thing right than it does to explain why you did it wrong.
-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps wishiknewmore HVAC 39 06-28-2012 08:51 PM
can I swap a (3) 60watt unit into a spot where I have a (1) 60watt unit? joeyboy Electrical 11 07-29-2007 07:25 PM
Question on 240v to ac(window unit) evosounds Electrical 2 07-20-2007 11:45 PM
Used Central Air Unit? shep28 HVAC 2 04-21-2007 07:59 PM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.