Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2010, 02:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, Az
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

A/C troubles....need some help please.


Hey all. Our home has dual A/C units. The unit that cools the main part of the house is not blowing cold today. I'm getting air out of the vents, the inlet is sucking air like normal but the outside condensor fan seems to be only running at half speed. We keep the A/C set at 80*. THe unit has been running solid for at least 2 hours and the temp in the house is now at 84*. We have Trane units outside and in the attic.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

Shane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 02:23 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

A/C troubles....need some help please.


could be weak capicator or fan motor going bad

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 02:46 PM   #3
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 0
Default

A/C troubles....need some help please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane1 View Post
Our home has dual A/C units.
Do you have two condensing (outside) units? Are they both running differently than normal?
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 06:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, Az
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 0
Default

A/C troubles....need some help please.


Thanks for the replies!
I gave bad info on the fan. It is running normal its just the the unit is quieter due to the compressor not being on. From talking to some local guys that I found on Craigslist and reading a bunch of stuff here and on the internet it sounds like its a start capicator.
I do have two outside units and yes they are running differently.
Shane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 09:41 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

A/C troubles....need some help please.


You mean run caps not start cap....
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 01:20 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, Az
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 0
Default

A/C troubles....need some help please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
You mean run caps not start cap....
Yup I meant run cap, Thanks.
Can anybody give me a ballpark figure of what I should expect to pay for a new run cap installed?
Thanks again.
Shane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:26 AM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

A/C troubles....need some help please.


Don't know your area but here in mi $230 to $260...might be way different where you are
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 04:22 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

A/C troubles....need some help please.


Quote:
Can anybody give me a ballpark figure of what I should expect to pay for a new run cap installed?
Varies with how much coffee I have left at home.

Eaxh contractor makes his own price. And that is pretty much determined by the area.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 12:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Phoenix, Az
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 0
Default

A/C troubles....need some help please.


Thanks again for the replies. A tech came out today and replaced the defective run cap on the big unit (4ton) for $145.00. He mentioned that the run cap on the smaller unit will more than likely fail pretty soon, so he offered me the cap for the smaller unit for another $40.00. I figured since he was here it cant hurt anything. So I'm out $185.00 but my A/C works again.

Shane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
propane furnace troubles grumpypapa HVAC 1 02-11-2009 12:32 PM
Snowblower Troubles dwhitters Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 02-03-2009 06:07 PM
Photocell Troubles Frogman1195 Electrical 12 02-03-2009 11:40 AM
Boiler Troubles *I Need Help Please* mikerouse1989 HVAC 4 02-01-2009 11:59 AM
HRV Troubles jweiner HVAC 8 01-02-2009 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.