A/C Runs Almost Constantly And Never Gets To Set Temp - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2012, 08:57 AM   #16
Member
 
ryanxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default

A/C runs almost constantly and never gets to set Temp


This may sound crazy but check your insulation. My insulation was only about 4 inches thick and I took almost every step I could to get my AC to push more and colder air. I ended up getting my insulation from R-9 to R-49 and now my AC barely runs at all and since the insulation covered my ducts in the attic my heat gain in my ducts is alot lower too. Air coming out of the vents used to hit 74 on hot days and now the highest it gets is about 66.

I also did continuous venting in the attic and that combined with the insulation has helped a ton.

My AC did have it's share of issues which all the troubleshooting helped such as leaky ducts that I taped up, redoing the trunk, getting the pressure exactly right, etc but adding more insulation would have been a hell of a lot easier and would have kept my electric bill from hitting $300 every month.

Advertisement

__________________
I am not an expert in anything. Any advice you take from me is strictly at your own risk!
ryanxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:37 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

A/C runs almost constantly and never gets to set Temp


The heat index was about 101 degrees yesterday. This morning I called out a service company and the technician checked the temp difference between the return and the air handler's output and it was only 12 degrees then he checked pressures and charged the system with 2 pounds, then he checked temps again and got a 17 degree difference. So I'll see how it works now. Thanks for all the help.
tyhorstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:21 PM   #18
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

A/C runs almost constantly and never gets to set Temp


Quote:
Originally Posted by tyhorstman View Post
The heat index was about 101 degrees yesterday. This morning I called out a service company and the technician checked the temp difference between the return and the air handler's output and it was only 12 degrees then he checked pressures and charged the system with 2 pounds, then he checked temps again and got a 17 degree difference. So I'll see how it works now. Thanks for all the help.
Don't worry about the heat index....HVAC is mechanical...it doesn't "feel" the heat index. I'll bet the 2# added and the new temperature difference will help immensely.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:14 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

A/C runs almost constantly and never gets to set Temp


Just a FYI... AC's don't consume refrigerant so needing 2 pounds means you have a leak.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (08-14-2012)
Old 08-14-2012, 09:19 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

A/C runs almost constantly and never gets to set Temp


well said.... god got the 2 lbs... find the leak
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:07 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

A/C runs almost constantly and never gets to set Temp


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S.
Just a FYI... AC's don't consume refrigerant so needing 2 pounds means you have a leak.
I know, so far it's cooling a lot better but its a matter of time till we lose the refrigerant again, I'll have them search out the leak and repair it.
tyhorstman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:38 PM   #22
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

A/C runs almost constantly and never gets to set Temp


That is correct. But "a matter of time" is relevant....could be two days...two weeks or two years. At any rate you need to consider your next step. 7 years is not too old for repair considerations.

Advertisement

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts